Team-BHP - DIY: Hardwiring your Dashcam

-   DIY - Do it yourself (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do-yourself/)
-   -   DIY: Hardwiring your Dashcam (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do-yourself/167284-diy-hardwiring-your-dashcam.html)

Time taken: 30-60 minutes
DIY experience level: Beginner

Introduction and Benefits of Hard-Wiring
Dashcams are gaining popularity in India, particularly among Team BHP members, as can be seen by the interest in the dashcam thread (link). This thread covers how to hard-wire your dashcam to your car's fuse box. I've used this approach to hard-wire dashcams to both my Ford EcoSport (Garmin Dash Cam 20) and my Hyundai Getz (Transcend DrivePro 100).

All dashcams that I've seen come with a mini-USB input, which is a slightly larger port than the micro-USB input that we're used to seeing on mobile phones. The dashcam kit therefore comes with a 12V cigarette lighter plug to power the dashcam from the car's 12V socket. Firstly, we look at the challenges of the 12V socket, which are usually resolved by hard-wiring.
Challenges of using a 12V socket
Benefits of Hardwiring
Alternatives to Hard-Wiring
With that introduction out of the way, let's get on with the details. This DIY guide is split into two parts:
  1. The first part covers the concepts and equipment used
  2. The second part covers the actual process of hard-wiring

High-Level Schematic
Here's a high-level view of how the hard-wiring process will work, with a description of each item.
Name:  Schematic.gif
Views: 62928
Size:  36.7 KB
The key elements are:
  1. The fuse box - present in the car, you tap power from this
  2. The fuse tap - allows you to tap power from the fuse box without any messy cutting of wires
  3. The hard-wire kit - converts the 12V of your car's electrical system to the 5V required for USB. Good ones have an inline fuse
  4. The dashcam - the raison d'être for all this work!

1: The Fuse Box
2: The Fuse Tap
A fuse tap works by plugging into the fuse box, closing off the original circuit using the original fuse, and also providing a fused current tap for an extra circuit. The below diagram will give you a better indication of how this works:
DIY: Hardwiring your Dashcam-fuse-tap.jpg

3. Hard-Wire Kit
The hard-wire kit converts the 12V of the car's electrical system into the 5V required for USB. It has bare wires at one end, and a mini-USB jack at the other. Between these two, there'll be a DC-DC converter, and usually an inline fuse also.
DIY: Hardwiring your Dashcam-garmin-miniusb-hardwire-kit.jpg

4. The Dash Cam
This is your dash cam of choice! For reference, I use a Garmin Dash Cam 20 and a Transcend DrivePro 100.

Procedure for Hard-Wiring
Now that we've got all that background information out of the way, let's move on to the actual work.
  1. Access the fuse box
  2. Identify an appropriate fuse
  3. Test the fuse socket
  4. Measure the wiring length
  5. Prepare the wiring
  6. Fit the hard-wire kit
  7. Test the hard-wire kit
  8. Route the cabling
  9. Final test
  10. Close and clean up

1. Access the Fuse Box
Your owner's manual will detail how you access the fuse box in the passenger compartment. If in doubt, you can ask around at your A.S.S. or an FNG. If you need to perform some disassembly, then make sure that you keep track of each screw, nut/bolt, connector. You don't want to put everything back together only to wonder why you're left with a stray screw!

If you need to pry open panels, I'd highly recommend using tools that are designed for this. I used this set of tools (pictured below) that are used for opening up car trim panels, and removing car stereos. If you don't want to pick up this, you can use equivalent plastic items, but be careful - you don't want to scratch up any panels!
DIY: Hardwiring your Dashcam-pry-tools.jpg
2. Identify an Appropriate Fuse
3. Test the Fuse Socket
For this step, you'll need an automotive tester. I used this Draper Low-Voltage Tester.
DIY: Hardwiring your Dashcam-low-volt-tester.jpg

4. Measure the Wiring Length
5. Prepare the Wiring
Aside: This is an area where I learnt a lot from online resources, since I had initially thought of our Indian jugaad approach of twisting wires and using insulation tape!

6. Fit the Hard-Wire Kit
7. Test the Hard-Wire Kit
8. Route the Cabling
9. Final Test
Before you proceed with any other activities, redo the tests you performed earlier, just to ensure that things still work fine.
10. Close and Clean-Up If all of this checks out, then congratulations - you've now got a cleanly wired dashcam.

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Modifications Section. Thanks for sharing!

That's a clean DIY Arun clap:.

We have done exactly same in funkykar's Linea before we headed for our Ladakh Drive last year. The need of the hour then was an independent power source for the Dashcam while the 12V socket at the front was used for Navigation device and another DIY 12V socket sitting at the back was used for Mobile/Tab charging.

For the Ertiga too I thought of hardwiring but then I got a neat location to add another 12V socket that almost looked OE where I have plugged the Dashcam's charger almost permanently while I use the other 2 sockets for charging multiple devices on the go.

Thanks for sharing this, will certainly help a lot of folks who want a non-messy, clean and independent route to power up the Dashcam and not worry about it subsequently to turn it on/off.

What coincidence, I was fiddling with my car the other day just to do the same.
But considering my limited knowledge I found it best to leave the work to a professional least my car goes up in flames.
But after reading this I think I am ready to give it another shot!
Thank You Arun!

Originally Posted by zazer (Post 3783478)
What coincidence, I was fiddling with my car the other day just to do the same. But considering my limited knowledge I found it best to leave the work to a professional least my car goes up in flames. But after reading this I think I am ready to give it another shot!

Go ahead and do it yourself :thumbs up. Re-read this part and take confidence from it:

Time taken: 30-60 minutes
DIY experience level: Beginner
I am not a hands-on guy, but with the right tools and knowledge found this to be a cakewalk. Hence I'm paying it forward with this thread.

There is an advantage, and a risk, to performing this (or any other) DIY:

Thanks. I have ecoSport and have recently ordered a dashcam on sale from Aliexpress. Will try this one as 12V socket is already in use by Garmin Navigation system.

Great Work!

I just bought this a few days earlier and was wondering how to power it without utilizing the only cigarette lighter socket available.

http://www.snapdeal.com/product/blau...g/656059560877

This is one really useful DIY, and not that tough to perform! Thanks for detailing each step.

However, I wanted to ask that did you order each item from the international websites or are they (good quality stuff) available in India?

Originally Posted by parth.jain (Post 3783668)
However, I wanted to ask that did you order each item from the international websites or are they (good quality stuff) available in India?

The links that I provided are the exact sites I ordered them from. I opted for reputed brands (e.g. Garmin, Bussmann, Draper) for peace of mind, and the specific items I chose were done only after reading their reviews.

While I did try to find these items in Indian sites first, I faced a few challenges: If you do find these products cheaper in India, then please do post details of that on this thread, for the benefit of others.

This is a good solution to power multiple devices. However for people who don't want to fiddle with the electronics one can get a power bank. I was able to power and record from my Transcend camera by connecting it to a usb power bank which i purchased from Amazon. This is however impractical as one has to remember to charge the power bank overnight and remember to carry it daily in the car but for long distance journey with a overnight stay is still a decent option.

Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar (Post 3783944)
This is a good solution to power multiple devices. However for people who don't want to fiddle with the electronics one can get a power bank.

In reality you aren't really fiddling with electronics here at all. You are merely leveraging on an easily available source to tap 12V power - The empty Fuse socket.

And remember - The Fuse Tap cable always have 2 Fuses. One that takes care of the load and the other to take care of the internal (car's) circuit.

Fuse Tap method is perhaps the cleanest & Safest of options to source 12V power and its 100% reversible that leaves zero signs if you revert back.

Originally Posted by arunphilip (Post 3783488)
Go ahead and do it yourself :thumbs up. Re-read this part and take confidence from it:

Arun,

Excellent !! To the point write-up, detailed pics, attention to detail and above all its inspirational, and if not this there are a lot of bits on our car that we can do it on our own.

Hats off !!

A quick question here, I know you are a pro in this but, did you see any difficulty in fixing the dashboard area back. I assume you did the whole thing on your own.

I am also curious to know, whether there are any new rattling noises of uneven fitting post your work.

Excellent post Arun! Immensely useful. I can identify with each of the cons you have put up under "Challenges of using a 12V socket". After living for close to 2 year with a 12v extender arrangement, I absolutely abhor all the wiring going around, and desperately want to reduce the clutter.

Are these fuse taps/heat shrink tubing etc, available locally? Or one needs to order from AE?

Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar (Post 3783944)
This is a good solution to power multiple devices. However for people who don't want to fiddle with the electronics one can get a power bank. This is however impractical as one has to remember to charge the power bank overnight and remember to carry it

Quite true, you make a good point. Like anything, it is a trade-off. Hard-wiring is a one-time change to make things automatic in the future. But if you're not keen on making such a change, or if the cost doesn't seem VFM, then yes, using another approach is fine. That approach will bring with it its own challenges (like the ones you pointed out with a power bank). In the end, its probably down to the individual, and which aspect he values more. There's no right or wrong, its all subjective.

I'd probably just qualify that while you are working with the car electricals, you're not tampering with the OEM electricals in any way (unlike say, a poor ICE installation which results in cutting/splicing of wires). So that should reassure you.

Originally Posted by paragsachania (Post 3783966)
In reality you aren't really fiddling with electronics here at all. You are merely leveraging on an easily available source to tap 12V power - The empty Fuse socket.

Thanks for your response, Parag!

Originally Posted by peterjim13 (Post 3784036)
did you see any difficulty in fixing the dashboard area back. I assume you did the whole thing on your own. I am also curious to know, whether there are any new rattling noises of uneven fitting post your work.

Thank you for your kind words Jim. I did laugh at your question about rattling - it takes a fellow EcoSport owner to relate to and worry about rattles in the plastic :D! So firstly, yes, I did all the work myself, unaided. The dashboard and side panel are well equipped with clips that come off and latch back on cleanly, so it was easy, and no damage was caused. I've not faced any rattles, so that too seems to be fine (phew!). Again, the clips ensure that alignment is perfect - once it snaps back in place, its like a factory fit, there's no dependence on the DIYer to carefully align panels. Its like Lego!

Originally Posted by Dry Ice (Post 3784038)
Are these fuse taps/heat shrink tubing etc, available locally? Or one needs to order from AE?

In my limited local research, I did not find fuse taps locally. Heat shrink tubing is definitely available in India, though I wasn't able to find it online. You can try Ebay, or go to Ali Express as you've suggested. If you know someone coming from either the UK or US, then get them to bring it in. All these items are so tiny that it will not cause them any inconvenience at all.