Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles

Old 8th June 2011, 12:47   #691

Re: City Buses of various STUs all over India

Originally Posted by julupani View Post
Correct me if I am wrong here, but I think the reason why only Volvo's are well maintained is that they are maintained by Volvo and the TML buses by BMTC.
The older Volvos are maintained by BMTC themselves. On the other hand, Marcopolos were included in an AMC with TATA. Only the new Volvos (JNNURM Funded ones) are part of the AMC with Volvo.
Old 8th June 2011, 12:48   #692

You say, in a low floor "avatar", but even the Tata and Leyland, fully built E+1 semi-low floor RE buses look pretty much like the E+0 low floor ones.

The only difference being, I doubt Corona will easily be able to convert this E+1 version to an E+0 version, due to the monocoque construction.
Old 8th June 2011, 13:55   #693

You say, in a low floor "avatar", but even the Tata and Leyland, fully built E+1 semi-low floor RE buses look pretty much like the E+0 low floor ones.

The only difference being, I doubt Corona will easily be able to convert this E+1 version to an E+0 version, due to the monocoque construction.
There is nothing like E+1 looking like E+0 as long as the entry is different one.
And its not that easy to convert a E+1 to a E+0 even though they are monocoque as its a all together different game.
Old 8th June 2011, 15:02   #694

I meant in general, at first glance, you can really say whether a bus is a SLF or a ULF.

By the way, I did agree with you that it will be tough for Corona with their monocoque bus.
Old 8th June 2011, 19:10   #695

Anybody could help me understand!
What is the cost of the bus?
What is he telling about Marcopolo's as its told frequently?
ANy other details told can be shared apart from english words like independent suspension, automatic transmission etc
Old 8th June 2011, 20:02   #696

Originally Posted by AkMar View Post
I actually find the seats of Kinglongs very comfortable. Yes the angle changes for some rows but the seats are comfortable. Seats in regular marcopolo are horrible. In the hybrid they are quite good.

This bus as well as Kinglong use 230 hp Cummins CNG engine
But its the NMMT volvos that i enjoy the most! i Guess they are not converted to CNG.

The power surge in Volvo is such that its quite a task to be a standee.
On flip side seats are half as compared to full ones in King long and number of seats are lesser than BEST.

But compare the driver's consoles and you will fall in love with VOLVO.

I guess Volvo is for 1 crore while King long costs somewhere in region of 60-70 lakhs.
Old 8th June 2011, 20:41   #697

Originally Posted by silverado View Post
I guess Volvo is for 1 crore while King long costs somewhere in region of 60-70 lakhs.
I am sorry, but you have ended up almost doubling the cost of these buses. I think the Volvos are in the range of 50lakhs, while others like KingLong, Tata, Leyland, come in around the 35lakh mark.

For 1 crore, you will get a multiaxle Volvo 9400 intercity bus or a Mercedes Benz multi-axle intercity.
Old 8th June 2011, 20:55   #698

I think the Volvos are in the range of 50lakhs, while others like KingLong, Tata, Leyland, come in around the 35lakh mark.

For 1 crore, you will get a multiaxle Volvo 9400 intercity bus or a Mercedes Benz multi-axle intercity.
Volvo B7R costs about 40 lakhs while the Volvo B9R (Multi-axle) costs 85 lakhs.
Old 8th June 2011, 20:55   #699

Originally Posted by silverado View Post
But its the NMMT volvos that i enjoy the most! i Guess they are not converted to CNG.

But compare the driver's consoles and you will fall in love with VOLVO.

I AM in love with Volvo But KL simply has the best seats and suspension amongst all the city buses I have ever travelled in.

I think the Volvos are in the range of 50lakhs, while others like KingLong, Tata, Leyland, come in around the 35lakh mark.
He is partially right. Kinglongs cost round 65 lakhs and Volvo 8400 is around 80 lakhs.
Old 8th June 2011, 21:25   #700

Originally Posted by AkMar View Post
He is partially right. Kinglongs cost round 65 lakhs and Volvo 8400 is around 80 lakhs.
I am sorry, but I think you have the prices wrong over there. Do you have any concrete

The prices libranof quoted are pretty much spot on. I think it was given to us by a guy who was looking to but a Volvo interciry bus. The only doubt I have is, I dont remember whether they were on road prices or not. And going by those prices, I doubt a Volvo 8400 city bus would be 80lakhs.

If you see, binai just quoted a MarcoPolo at 32lakhs. Do you think a KingLong will be twice the price of a MarcoPolo??
Old 8th June 2011, 22:10   #701

I am sorry, but I think you have the prices wrong over there.

If you see, binai just quoted a MarcoPolo at 32lakhs. Do you think a KingLong will be twice the price of a MarcoPolo??
I very well know what I am talking about. This price has been published in newspaper articles at least 4-5 times. Here are a couple of links I found during a quick search which support my statement that Kinglongs cost 65 lakhs & B7R costs 75 lakhs:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/commer...ml#post1004868

12 King Long buses for Jet Airways - Hindustan Times

It is impossible that B9R will cost more than double of B7R.
Old 8th June 2011, 22:22   #702

Dont know about the article, but the post that you have cited talks about the intercity coaches and not city buses. As for the B7R, they have been made cheaper after the introduction of the B9Rs. Prices have changed quite a bit in 3years.

The two sources that you have cited seem to be contradictory. An intercity KingLong is cheaper than a KingLong city bus by 10lakh??

If the KingLong city bus does cost 65lakhs, which I still doubt they do, buying them is complete harakiri in my opinion.
Old 8th June 2011, 22:42   #703

I have made myself amply clear about the prices & I do not wish to argue more about it. The post in T-BHP is 3 yrs old, I just quoted it to give an approximate idea of price range. If you are going to point out differences of even 1 rupee, I am helpless.

Buying KLs is NOT harakiri in any way. Please do not make such blanket statements without travelling in the buses. I observe the buses closely everyday and have travelled in them quite a few times. Initially I also thought the same, but after travelling in Tata Marcopolo my opinion has changed drastically. IMO KLs are the best option in intracity CNG AC buses (not considering the Volvo as they are just entering the market). All the 3 options availale now (Marcopolo, AL and KL) have the same engine. From experience of BEST's AL, I can tell you that its performance is nowhere close to KLs. KLs offer unmatched comfort. Its seats and suspension cannot beaten by even a Volvo. Tata Marcopolo and AL have horrrrible seats and suspension. Performance of Kinglongs is good enough. Yes, the body quality is bad but that can be ignored to a certain extent due to the comfort factor.

Make no mistake - I love Volvos very much & I would definitely choose a Volvo over KL given an option. But all the badmouthing of KLs that is done is unwarranted (not you in specific, I see a lot of people doing it). No one takes a look at those buses in a balanced way. I am glad that BEST purchased KLs instead of Marcopolos even though the first batch of KLs was horrible. The subsequent 2 batches have shown huuuuge improvements. One has to call a spade a spade.
Old 9th June 2011, 07:49   #704

I hope you went through my post properly. The Marcopolo that is sold for 32 lakhs is a Low Floor (650mm Floor Height, E+1) bus with a 180hp engine. The ULF Marcopolo (290mm floor height, E+0) bus with 230hp engine sells for more than 60 lakhs.

So, a Kinglong at 65 lakhs is not a surprise at all.

And, yes, the Volvo B7RLE (8400 Intracity Coach) sells for more than 80 Lakhs. (The initial versions cost close to a Crore).

As for the B7R, they have been made cheaper after the introduction of the B9Rs. Prices have changed quite a bit in 3years.
Not much cheaper. They came down from 80 Lakhs to 75 Lakhs. The B7R has a list price of Rs. 75 Lakhs, while the B9R (Multi Axle) has a list price of Rs. 95 Lakhs. (This is from the price quote that one of our members got from Volvo)

The two sources that you have cited seem to be contradictory. An intercity KingLong is cheaper than a KingLong city bus by 10lakh??
Certainly.. City buses are certainly more expensive than Intercity buses. City buses come with adjustable suspension, automatic transmission and lots more frills. The Low Floor technology itself is expensive. Intercity coaches have very less of these frills, and hence are cheaper than city coaches. (I am talking of fully built ones, not the bare chassis and local bodies than one puts on).
binaiks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2011, 15:26   #705

Binaiks,you are correct.Cost of a Volvo B9R would come around 94 Lacs.On the road price will be approximately 1.12 -1.13Crore.This include an insurance amount of 12Lacs for a 49 seater B9R,Karnataka tax of 1.38Lacs for a quarter and registration and other initial expenses are extra.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com