Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles

Old 14th February 2011, 12:22   #436

Re: The Heavy Trucks thread

Well, there isn't yet a directly comparable Tata Prima to the Volvo range in India as the higher hp models haven't yet been released. The only one slightly comparable is the Volvo FM300, which is the base Volvo as mentioned by Ashley. But remember the Prima 4928S you see is also the base version of the Prima tractor range. This present Prima 4928S is definitely a better choice compared to the FM300. Even after you kit the Prima out to its maximum level you can expect a a cheaper price.

Expect the prices to be atleast 5-10lakh cheaper than comparable Volvo when they are launched. Which is pretty simply because of a much higher part localisation, as most of the components are made in India, unlike the Volvos which are pretty much just assembled in India, with only a few non-major components coming in from within the country.

Also to give you a price idea, this 280hp Tata Prima 4928S which you see above costs no less than 40lakhs for just the tractor. If you opt for a Tata built trailor too, the price will go over 50lakhs. The 49XXS can be expected to be seen in power ratings as high as 560hp. You can check out the Tata Daewoo website, for some of the other Prima models. Expect the Cummins ISBe, Cummins ISLe, FPT Cursor 10 and FPT Cursor 13 engine options to be available in India, with both Eaton and ZF gearbox options, getting launched within 2years time.

As of now the Prima is sure to do one thing, eat into Volvo second hand market, as it will always be easier to service a Tata compared to a Volvo and also spares will be much much cheaper. Remember, components brought in for assembly on a truck are charged with far lesser import duty in India compared to any part which is brought in to be sold directly as spare parts.
Old 14th February 2011, 13:19   #437

Originally Posted by julupani View Post
Also to give you a price idea, this 280hp Tata Prima 4928S which you see above costs no less than 40lakhs for just the tractor. If you opt for a Tata built trailor too, the price will go over 50lakhs.
I am not sure it will cost more than 50 lks for a Tractor Trailor configuration.
I can certainly tell it will be in the range between 35 to 40lks only.
Old 14th February 2011, 15:46   #438

looks like tata prima can easily run into volvo's market. the fit and finish is also so perfect. one very good global truck from india! way to go.
Old 14th February 2011, 17:10   #439

The Tata Prima was designed to compete with the Volvos, MANs, Mercedes, Renaults trucks not just in India but in the future in Europe too. So there is nothing to be surprised here.

As for the price, I think the price I am sure of. the 4028 costs just over 30lakhs and the 4928 around 40lakhs. And Tata takes about 10lakh for an ABS equipped 3axle trailor. The prices of the trailor may vary depending on the kind of load specialisation.

In 35-40lakhs you can get a Prima 4028S with a Tata built ABS equipped trailor.
Old 15th February 2011, 09:52   #440

.... And Tata takes about 10lakh for an ABS equipped 3axle trailor. The prices of the trailor may vary depending on the kind of load specialisation.
In 35-40lakhs you can get a Prima 4028S with a Tata built ABS equipped trailor.
Hey the ABS is a mandatory feature in all Tractor Trailor since April 2008.
Old 15th February 2011, 16:18   #441

You sure about that, as I think non ABS tractors are still sold.
Old 15th February 2011, 19:06   #442

Originally Posted by Leymama View Post
Is Tata planning for Semi Forward Cabi (Truck with a nose) type of a vehicle on Prima platform.
The Prima range of cabs were designed by Stile Bertone which was hired by TML in 2002 for the purpose. The brief given to Bertone at that time covered "bonnetted" versions which I had presumed referred to normal control/semi-forward control cabs. Check this news report:

Tata Engg to join hands with Italian design firm
Saturday, August 24, 2002
HindustanTimes
Deepak Joshi

Tata Engineering is gearing up to meet the forthcoming European Union regulations on commercial vehicles in technical collaboration with the Turin-based engineering and design corporation Stile Berton. This is expected to give a boost to the Tata group company's efforts to enter the global market and be a major foreign exchange earner. The company exported 7,183 commercial vehicles in 2001-02, thereby earning forex to the tune of Rs 621 crore.

Telco's technical collaboration with Stile Berton will also include benchmarking of European cabs. Efforts will be made to itemise cost breakdown with regard to tooling, design and materials. "Tata Engineering would like to transform its range of commercial vehicles to provide the unique selling proposition of world class performance at the lowest cost," the foreign collaboration agreement states.

The various heavy commercial vehicles and buses made by the country's largest manufacturer will have specifications of a day cab, sleeper cab with low and high roofs as well as bonnetted versions. Several options of vehicle and bumper length will also be explored. The vehicles to be considered for upgradation will a width ranging from 2100 mm to 2450 mm.

Tata Engineering hopes that the cabs designed in collaboration with the Italian firm will have a life of 12 to 15 years after launch. For this purposed, it hopes to design products that are adaptable to receive future facelifts. The company is confident that by introduction of removable rear wall and ceiling it would be possible to represent in the same interior model the configuration of the long cab and high roof.

This will help Tata Engineering to enter the growing segment of bus manufacturing in a big way. At present, most of the buses are bodies built on chassis purchased from commercial vehicle makers. Excise duty differential between bus bodies manufactured by the organised sector and the small scale units is believed to have resulted in this distortion.
Old 16th February 2011, 12:03   #443

You sure about that, as I think non ABS tractors are still sold.
Yes I am sure!
Apart from that even rigid trucks carrying hazardous materials is having ABS
Old 16th February 2011, 16:32   #444

Well, that may be, but I am still sure about the prices mentioned by me.
Old 16th February 2011, 19:16   #445

Originally Posted by Ashley2 View Post
Yes I am sure!
Apart from that even rigid trucks carrying hazardous materials is having ABS
Who passes these rules? I mean is it at State level where there is a scope for non-conformance in some states or National level?
Old 16th February 2011, 19:37   #446

I think overall vehicle certification rules lie within the ambit of the ARAI, or is it independent states who make these vehicle specification rules.
Old 17th February 2011, 10:17   #447

Originally Posted by DWind View Post
Who passes these rules? I mean is it at State level where there is a scope for non-conformance in some states or National level?
It is enforced through CMVR by ARAI.
Its not state specific as the Tractors normally covers 3 to 4 states for good transport. ANd we cannot restric a truck entering a state without ABS as its practically not possible.
Old 17th February 2011, 23:37   #448

Daimler unveils Bharat Benz; to invest Rs 4,400 cr in 5 yrs

Daimler unveils Bharat Benz; to invest Rs 4,400 cr in 5 yrs - Yahoo! News
The brand would offer Indian customers an entire range of trucks from six to 49 tonne across various applications from next year.
Stating that this is the fifth brand for the German automaker, Daimler Trucks and Buses Head- Andreas Renschler said, "We are launching a brand for the middle market segment that plays to win. This segment is expected to grow as much as 80 per cent of the Indian truck market till 2020. That will be a game changer".
No plans to introduce the FUSO range in India? Any way, the premium brands got a slightly different strategy for India, a different brand in a different price point with out diluting the premium brand's value. (Volvo - Eicher ). Interesting years ahead for the Indian auto industry. Traditional low cost indian makers (Tata, AL, Mahindra) go up the value chain, while Premium brands (Volvo, Benz) going the otherway

Last edited by teamveevee : 17th February 2011 at 23:40. Reason: Mods: Please delete this post. Just now saw the other thread by GTO
Old 18th February 2011, 00:57   #449

First Actros SLT in India. Photo from Mercedes chakkan plant posted by a friend in Mercedes-Benz's India's fb page. One of my good friend's nephew too saw this one when he went chakkan for Star Drive conducted by Pune dealer. He mentioned its 6x6, so I think it be SLT 4065. Its having a GCW of 250 tonnes @ 80kmph. It's an amazing truck, it also hold the world record for carrying 500 ton Russian space shuttle Buran with one prime mover.
The Heavy Trucks thread-slt-india.jpg  

Last edited by hanmust : 18th February 2011 at 01:00.
Old 19th February 2011, 21:12   #450

After bharat benz, it seems bharat volvo! One of the Volvo customer in Kerala, got his new Leyland tractor built a look like Volvo!
The Heavy Trucks thread-image245.jpg