Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles

Old 10th June 2012, 21:56   #1831

Re: Intercity Bus travel reviews

Originally Posted by TKMCE View Post
Also generally what are the chances of getting a seat at the last minute on Saturdays???
Originally Posted by binaiks View Post
Depends a lot on luck. During summer months, last minute tickets are impossible.
@ TKMCE - I just PM'ed you a travel agency contact number, based out of Madiwala and they are my preferred agent since 10+ years. They never let me down let it be Onam/Christmas or any other peak season. They reserve ticket over phone and reconfirms on the date of travel. You need to buy the ticket once you reach Madiwala to board the bus.

Interestingly, they sell tickets for all buses. Even if its impossible to get a confirmed ticket, just walk in to their office and wait, you will get. (I am no way connected to them other than their customer)
coolclouds is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th June 2012, 04:56   #1832

Thanks Binai/Coolclouds.

I am going to try the Madivala option next time and will check out the agent Coolclouds suggested. Nowadays all my trips are last minute , so booking in advance is out of the question.

My employer also does not have a flexi time policy in terms of working hours , hence my requirement on reaching before 7 AM at Majestic/Kplym. Now that is a problem I never have been able to resolve on a consistent basis. Last time not only did I not reach on time , I ended up travelling from Trichur to Palghat via Shoranur and Ottapalam as well for the first time (The operator Sharma took the route to pick up a grand total of 3 people on the diverted route - 1 each at Wadakkencherry/Shoranur and Ottappalam!) . Earlier when the KeSRTC Globus AC services were running from Trichur, it was a fail safe option even if it meant taking a local bus from Aluva to Trichur. You could reserve the ticket in advance and be in Majestic everytime by 6AM if you took the 8PM service.
Old 12th June 2012, 19:48   #1833

Originally Posted by Ashley2 View Post
Many of the operators starting from Rathimeena to Jeppiar, Sharma to National, VRL to SRS, locks their Volvo buses at 100kmph.
SRM initially did not have speed locks and after meeting some frequent accidents they also locked.
The primary reason for speed lock to have a better fuel mileage which becomes very less when speed increases beyond 100.
This is to the best of knowledge and experience.
I have personally seen the Sarvesh (KPNs) and IIRC Kallada and one more doing over a 110 on the BLR - Salem route. Its scary to see a huge thing filling up your rear view esp when you are doing a sedate 100 and flashing and honking. You do one thing and one thing only - MOVE!
Old 14th June 2012, 00:45   #1834

Saw a New Bus to Bangalore from Thodupuzha.it is written "Nellippilly". is it owned by Friends Travels/Udayam group.
Old 14th June 2012, 09:15   #1835

Originally Posted by deepclutch View Post
Saw a New Bus to Bangalore from Thodupuzha.it is written "Nellippilly". is it owned by Friends Travels/Udayam group.
Its not exactly new - they've been operating for almost a year now. IIRC, it is a Prakash built non-ac bus. It is handled by Friends travels in Bangalore, and is usually parked at the petrol pump in Madiwala.
binaiks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th June 2012, 09:40   #1836

Experts advise required.

Does this bus schedule reach on time to Bangalore 17.30 KOTTAYAM-MSR-BANGALORE (SDA471) which comes via Bandipur.

Looking for 3 tickets from Kollam to Bangalore on the 17th June.
Old 14th June 2012, 09:49   #1837

Originally Posted by nkrishnap View Post
Experts advise required.

Does this bus schedule reach on time to Bangalore 17.30 KOTTAYAM-MSR-BANGALORE (SDA471) which comes via Bandipur.

Looking for 3 tickets from Kollam to Bangalore on the 17th June.
Yes, it does. The route is Kottayam-Thrissur-Perinthalmanna-Nilambur-Gudalur-Gundlupet-Mysore-Mandya-Bangalore. It has a "night pass" for the forest route, and hence reaches Bangalore at its scheduled time itself.
binaiks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th June 2012, 22:22   #1838

Has anyone got any feedback about the new operator who has started on Chennai Trivandrum named Bethlehem Transports???

The website is still not functional but I believe they have already started operations. Features seat back TVs , unlimited WIFI and a "hygenic imported chemical toilet" as per their website under construction which also shows pictures of a Multi Axle Merc and the "imported toilet" as well among other pictures in the gallery section!
Old 15th June 2012, 09:15   #1839

Originally Posted by TKMCE View Post
Has anyone got any feedback about the new operator who has started on Chennai Trivandrum named Bethlehem Transports???
As per a friend in Trivandrum, its 7pm departure from Aristo Jn, Tvm and 8pm departure from Koyambde. Fare is Rs. 1300. Snacks, complimentary wifi, individual monitor, chemical toilet etc are the main features.
Old 15th June 2012, 22:19   #1840

Originally Posted by coolclouds View Post
As per a friend in Trivandrum, its 7pm departure from Aristo Jn, Tvm and 8pm departure from Koyambde. Fare is Rs. 1300. Snacks, complimentary wifi, individual monitor, chemical toilet etc are the main features.
Yes indeed. the picture gallery in their site ( BETHLEHEM TRANSPORTS ) shows all the above mentioned features.

I read on BCMtouring that they paid a whopping Rs.1.63 Crs for this Merc Mutilaxke, which makes it around 40-45 Lacs more expensive than a Volvo B9R.

What would you guys suggest, buying a Merc with added features for 1.63 Crs or buy a Volvo B9R plus an Air Conditioned AL or Tata Hispano and run two buses for the same amount. I wonder which makes more business sense ?
Old 16th June 2012, 00:11   #1841

Originally Posted by autotranny View Post
What would you guys suggest, buying a Merc with added features for 1.63 Crs or buy a Volvo B9R plus an Air Conditioned AL or Tata Hispano and run two buses for the same amount. I wonder which makes more business sense ?
It all depends what the intent is. Of course there are exceptions, but many times, the business line is not to make profit.. I am NOT saying the operator mentioned here belongs to this category.
Old 16th June 2012, 08:51   #1842

.... they paid a whopping Rs.1.63 Crs for this Merc ....
That is too much !
What are the additional features compared to regular Merc? about 40 LCD system, Wifi and a toilet can not cost that much IMHO. Am I missing something else?
Old 16th June 2012, 11:21   #1843

Originally Posted by coolclouds View Post
That is too much !
What are the additional features compared to regular Merc? about 40 LCD system, Wifi and a toilet can not cost that much IMHO. Am I missing something else?
I think that's about it for the add'ons. IMHO, the costliest amongst these would be the Chemical toilet ; but even that as per this website bus toilet products, buy bus toilet products from alibaba.com works to less than 2 Lakhs only.

Then again, I'm not sure about the 1.63 Crs though; its purely hear-say.

I'm opening it up for discussion. . Let the experts decide.

I wonder where binaiks is ?
Old 16th June 2012, 12:45   #1844

I read on BCMtouring that they paid a whopping Rs.1.63 Crs for this Merc Mutilaxke, which makes it around 40-45 Lacs more expensive than a Volvo B9R.
I wonder if the number being quoted is the on-road figure. A difference of upto 50lakhs in impossible otherwise.

I heard the bus has "AVOD" system (Audio-Video On Demand) - this system might mean having individual controllers for every seat - this would increase the wiring requirement and also require extra power supply. May be all these is increasing the cost of the bus - but not surely to the extent of 40-50lakhs.

Depends on the route. There are speed crazy routes where only multis would sell.
Old 16th June 2012, 14:34   #1845

I prefer Non Volvo Sleeper for Bangalore - Chennai/Bangalore-Hubli or any other short route whereas Multi Axle for Cochin/Trivandrum-Bangalore/Chennai route.

An A/c AL or Tata will be more profitable on shorter routes.