Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles

Old 20th November 2008, 18:29   #76

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post
I do think KSRTC has introduced the B9r's as The AMBARI's. Not sure as i had overtaken one on my drive back from blr. Well one word which i have for it is its Humongous. Looks huge and massive. It was at 8.30 so i couldnt spot the badging though
Ambaari is the KSRTC's "Corona" bus. They look a bit bigger than a Volvo, but isn't as good as them! The bus reportedly has a 160hp Cummins engine!
Old 20th November 2008, 22:26   #77

huge machine, will zoom past all others, twin axels will be more comfortable as well
Old 21st November 2008, 12:19   #78

Originally Posted by deepclutch View Post
I sincerely Hope they dont introduce chemical toilets or whatever in those buses ,especially owned by karnataka/tamilnadu based major operators.already they miss the cleanliness(no offense!) in many volvo services!.
Better those who are so severe cases carry adult diapers! :P
I guess it has more to do with passengers' civic sense than the corporations' cleaning abilities!

Read the link to Bangalore mirror on my post here: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post1019250

Will we ever improve?
Old 21st November 2008, 12:45   #79

Originally Posted by binaiks View Post
Ambaari is the KSRTC's "Corona" bus. They look a bit bigger than a Volvo, but isn't as good as them! The bus reportedly has a 160hp Cummins engine!
They are 160 BHP, for sure.

But they are not as big as a Volvo. Even the wheels are small. Just standard 20", not the 22.5" we see on Volvos!

See: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...tml#post937091 and http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...tml#post925251
Old 9th December 2008, 12:35   #80

Originally Posted by Glifford View Post
Makes good sense for the operator, and they may be able to charge a slight premium over B7R!
Turns out they are actually doing it! Check:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post1084020

and

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post1083945
Old 26th December 2008, 13:56   #81

The B9R of KSRTC - Kerala
Volvo Launches B9R Coach : 9400 6x2-ksrtc-kerala.jpg  

Old 26th December 2008, 19:37   #82

Originally Posted by ssdubai View Post
The B9R of KSRTC - Kerala
B9R???

It is a B7R

See this image.. the B7R badging is clear on it. The bus is a Volvo 9400. (Remember B9R is 9400 6x4, while the B7R is 9400)
Volvo Launches B9R Coach : 9400 6x2-p1170613.jpg  

Old 26th December 2008, 19:58   #83

I have seen this bus in Hyderabad. Operator is 'Dhanunjaya Travels'. May be plying between Chennai-Hyderabad. The bus is really lengthy and huge. The bus caught my attention because of its sheer size and length.
Old 26th December 2008, 20:20   #84

Originally Posted by ravi@64bhp View Post
I have seen this bus in Hyderabad. Operator is 'Dhanunjaya Travels'. May be plying between Chennai-Hyderabad. The bus is really lengthy and huge. The bus caught my attention because of its sheer size and length.
They call it the "Jumbo"

I tried booking on the Dhanunjaya, but couldn't make it through. Took the Parveen.
Old 26th December 2008, 20:22   #85

Originally Posted by Fountainheader View Post
They call it the "Jumbo"

I tried booking on the Dhanunjaya, but couldn't make it through. Took the Parveen.
Yeah! It is really a Jumbo.
Old 27th December 2008, 11:39   #86

Originally Posted by binaiks View Post
B9R???

It is a B7R

See this image.. the B7R badging is clear on it. The bus is a Volvo 9400. (Remember B9R is 9400 6x4, while the B7R is 9400)
Agreed.With an apology .
B7R - Euro III - 9400
Got a bit carried away while posting
Thanks for the correction
Old 27th December 2008, 16:57   #87

Good to see Kerala SRTC re-introduced the Volvo. Hope it'll last in the fleet with some more additions.
Old 30th December 2008, 18:54   #88

Hi guys... my first post here on Team-BHP...

Traveled by this buses a couple of times on Ahmedabad-Rajkot route... Looks cool from outside but... not so cool from inside... Same as the B7R except for the lenght...

Seats and interiors are almost the same as B7R. The side windows are bit lower (about 2 inches) than B7R. It has 50+ seats compared to 40+ in B7R... 2 LCD TVs... Rear roof mounted camera (probably fitted by the operator coz only 4 of the 6 buses i saw had them). And no chemical toilets... BTW Eagle travels started nonstop B7R buses between Ahmedabad and Rajkot that has toilets built in them. Its in place of 2-3 rows of seats in the middle. Its partially in the lower cargo area so that you need to go down a couple of steps to get into it. Dont ask more coz I didnt use it...

The ride is more comfortable than B7R probably because its longer and has 2 rear axles. Its more quieter probably coz its new. The ticket costs are the same as B7R buses.

The cost according to the driver of the bus... 1.1 crore rupees!!! B7R costs 75 lakhs... And fuel economy... B9R - 1-2 km/lt while B7R gives 3-4 km/lt. It seems too less but can anyone confirm it???
Old 31st December 2008, 19:09   #89

Only one word for this monester.... WOW !!!

Hope to see i running on Mumbai Pune Rote so I can enjoy the ride....this is a definate temptation to leave my mHawk at home and sleep through.
Old 1st January 2009, 13:01   #90

B9R the multi axle volvos are seen on Mumbai Pune highway. I have seen a Neeta volve & an Prassana travels Bus. Looks great because of its length. understand these are 54 seaters/Sleepers.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com