Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles

Old 15th November 2024, 12:04   #46

Re: Air India & Vistara merger | Is it in the interests of the customer?

Telecom and Airline, both industries are badly struggling in our country, after some years we will be seeing domination in both the markets, Govt should be soft hearted towards them, expecting unexpected price increase and poor services from Jio, Airtel, VI, Air India and Indigo
Old 15th November 2024, 14:43   #47

So i took the last Vistara branded flight on DEL-BLR sector on 11th this month, bringing an end to my default airline for most of the sectors (except where Indigo has a direct flight and vistara doesn’t).

As per the chatter Vistara would be renamed as AI2xxx and everything else shall remain same. But to my horror,the Return BLR-DEL AI2xxx was delayed by more than three hours while AIyyyy flights departed on time.

I could sadly realise that whatever they may say ,Vistara experience is gone !!!
himanshu_trikha is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th November 2024, 14:48   #48

Originally Posted by himanshu_trikha View Post
So i took the last Vistara branded flight on DEL-BLR sector on 11th this month, bringing an end to my default airline for most of the sectors (except where Indigo has a direct flight and vistara doesn’t).

As per the chatter Vistara would be renamed as AI2xxx and everything else shall remain same. But to my horror,the Return BLR-DEL AI2xxx was delayed by more than three hours while AIyyyy flights departed on time.

I could sadly realise that whatever they may say ,Vistara experience is gone !!!
Many flights are experiencing delays across major Metros. This is not a Vistara - Air India Issue!
2000rpm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th November 2024, 15:31   #49

I followed Vistara as an airline from the early days, right from their branding, livery, in-flight experience etc. My BLR-DEL work trips few years ago were all in Vistara. After the disasters that were Kingfisher and Jet, Vistara gave a new hope in the full-service carrier segment and their tagline 'fly the new feeling' was just perfect.

When AI announced the merger plan, it didn't make sense at all. It takes ages to build a brand. Why dilute brand Vistara? This whole branding around 'Maharaja' sounds old age. Even if they make AI great again (which might take years), it's never going to be like Vistara.
prancinstallion is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th November 2024, 16:30   #50

Originally Posted by 2000rpm View Post
Many flights are experiencing delays across major Metros. This is not a Vistara - Air India Issue!
I also sincerely hope that it’s not the issue with the merger ,just that it was my first severe delay (3 hours ) after so many months, with an average of 10-12 flights each month. As I said ,only AI2xxx were severely delayed ,rest all appeared doing allright with an average delay ranging from 10 mins to an hour.

Flightradar showed clear weather with each of the sortie undertaken by that particular aircraft been put into service for this flight.
Old 15th November 2024, 19:19   #51

Had a Vistara flight scheduled ex-Bangalore on the morning of 11 Nov. Had called during booking and once later to confirm this won't be impacted by the merger.

Canceled at short notice late on the 10th, with no info beyond 'contact customer care for more info'. After several hours of listening to mind-numbing hold music and multiple call drops, finally got a hold of a human being who offered a refund or a re-booking on an Air India flight.

Picked the latter for the day after as flying out was necessary, only to realise they'd booked a 'cabin baggage only' fare, which took more calls to clarify a checked bag would be allowed. Selected and paid seat gone poof (refund request was created, but not a peep on it so far).

Anyone expecting the Vistara 'experience' to carry over is daydreaming.
Chetan_Rao is offline   (27) Thanks
Old 16th November 2024, 02:21   #52

I was always a fan of Vistara and used to book them even if other ones were available for cheaper prices! Will definitely miss the premium cabins and newer aircrafts, though they will still be in use with the Air India disguise.
I wanted to ask the members here if anyone lost their free vouchers in the migration from Club Vistara to Maharaja Club. I had two vouchers and I cannot see them now, though the points have been transferred. I dread the exchange of emails to get my vouchers back.
Shivacharanpate is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2024, 09:57   #53

Originally Posted by Chetan_Rao View Post
Anyone expecting the Vistara 'experience' to carry over is daydreaming.
Ideally the Vistara management should have been made in charge of the merged entity instead of the other way.

I don't expect the Air-India guys to learn anything from Vistara, they'll just end spoiling the existing Vistara staff culture.
ZenMaster is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 18th November 2024, 11:36   #54

WHAT A DISASTER! there was joke many years ago, not politically correct to repeat though but it was about a certain Indian State and Japan, suffice to State, the latter part of that joke has come true.

Took a flight on Saturday night to Amdavad. Flight delayed by 3 hours but no announcement/sms or email. Not ONE, not TWO, not three, but FOUR, gate changes. If you've been to T3, Delhi then you know 27 is in the right and 46 on the left, imagine the chaos. This is pre-boarding.

The air-frame was of Vistara, which prior to the merger was a clean and nice smelling plane (i've flown in the same plane before), however horror, the plane was stinking, and it was not cleaned as well, there were bottles on the floor.

the food was also really really bad, definitely not comparable.

I also pity the cabin crew, they are forced to fly with Air India pilots who treat them like dirt, personally saw the Captain being extremely rude to the purser post the flight. They are so demoralised and like a chorus are lamenting the loss of vistara.

so there. Ghalib I suspect foresaw this when he said

"barbaad gulistan karne ko bas ek hi ullu kafi tha
har shakh pe ullu baitha hai anjam-e-gulistan kya hoga"

Last edited by shady_lawyer : 18th November 2024 at 11:40.
shady_lawyer is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th November 2024, 12:14   #55

Originally Posted by Shivacharanpate View Post
I was always a fan of Vistara and used to book them even if other ones were available for cheaper prices! Will definitely miss the premium cabins and newer aircrafts, though they will still be in use with the Air India disguise.
I wanted to ask the members here if anyone lost their free vouchers in the migration from Club Vistara to Maharaja Club. I had two vouchers and I cannot see them now, though the points have been transferred. I dread the exchange of emails to get my vouchers back.
Hi, Yes the vouchers get transferred. Likewise I had a couple of vouchers from Vistara which have been transferred over to Air India. There is a separate section on your profile page called "My vouchers" which has them.
Old 18th November 2024, 15:23   #56

Yesterday, I flew Air India which was originally a Vistara booking and was moved to Air India after the merger.
Apart from a 20mins delay, I have nothing bad to report. The aircraft was a A320 from Vistara, it was clean and the seats/equipment (like USB ports for charging) were operational. Service was good and food was well prepared. In flight magazine was the last edition of Vistara and had a collection of many memories. It was a good read. All-in-all, I came out happy.

I am flying Air India next week (A350 ) and looking forward to the experience.

The migration from Club Vistara to Maharaja Club was seamless for me. I really hope the merger works out well and I am more than willing to give Air India a few chances with my money.