|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 145,321 views |
![]() | #61 | |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2018 Location: Kolkata
| re: Dassault Rafale, Indian Air Force's new Multi-Role Combat Aircraft! EDIT: MMRCA Evaluation on Page 7 Quote:
Meteor is a ramjet missile unlike regular BVR missiles like Astra, R-77,AMRAAM, PL-15. These regular BVRs employ solid rocket motors &/ or pulsed rocket motor. Now Meteor has a Ramjet engine that does not have to carry any oxidiser unlike regular BVRs. The regular BVRs carry both fuel and oxidiser where the oxidiser is way heavier. 1 gram of jet fuel needs around 3.5 grams of oxidiser to properly burn the fuel. In a ramjet there is no need to carry the oxidiser (the heavier component), as they are air-breathing, giving them a longer range on the same amount of fuel. Additionally the extra air that gets pulled along increases the potential reaction mass thereby enhancing propulsive efficiency. If we look at Astra (single stage solid fuel prop), the range and mass are 110 kms and 154 kgs respectively. Now the mass of Meteor is 190kgs which is around 36 kgs more. So when I see the claimed range of Meteor to be ~100 kms I get the feeling that certain unknown MTCR protocols are being abided by MBDA and for reasons that are best left unknown, IAF is heavily banking on Meteor and Rafale to fight the attrition of squadron strength. Regards | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank Kuldeep31 for this useful post: | AlphaKilo, Shome, V.Narayan |
|
![]() | #62 |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2013 Location: Coimbatore
| re: Dassault Rafale, Indian Air Force's new Multi-Role Combat Aircraft! EDIT: MMRCA Evaluation on Page 7 I think no other defense acquisition has garnered so much national interest in the recent past. Not sure whether one should be happy about getting one of the best fighter jets or the fact that we are still several generations behind when it comes to cutting edge technology and are nowhere close to even re engineering systems, much less innovating and perfecting them. That said, I think the govt has made a sensible decision for various reasons. 1. There is no point in buying more MiGs and Sukhois. The Chinese have pretty much the same hardware, albeit in much larger numbers. They know these Russian fighters inside out and have basically copied the same for many of their J platforms. More importantly, they have run these fighters in circles around their best ground based radars and AWACS available to them in every possible frequency. This treasure trove of data makes our Russian fighters pretty much useless against China. This was one of the main reasons why the US has pushed Turkey out of the F-35 program once Turkey signed up for the S-400 system. Likewise, during joint exercises between the US and India, for example, the radars are switched off on fighters to avoid giving away too much information. Choosing the F-21 aka the renamed F-16 was an option with so much pressure coming from our American friends but again, Pak has pretty much the same or could easily upgrade its current fleet to Indian standards. In the case of a war with China, it might come to a war of attrition between IAF and PLAAF since neither can dominate the other with almost same Russian machinery and China, with sheer numbers on its side will eventually prevail. Here is where the Rafales come in and just a few squadrons of Rafales with the IAF will change this equation to a large extent. They will help us dominate in whatever sectors they are meant to guard. 2. The Western avionics are vastly superior to the russian ones, and this is a known fact. WW2 type visual range fights with fighters flying right and left can only be seen on movies. The current and future theaters of war will be played beyond the visual range and hence whichever side has the best sub systems and air-air missiles that can take out the enemy in BVR mode will come out alive. As such, Rafael has one of the best air to air missile and will strike fear in to the hearts of opposing air forces for a long time to come. 3. IAF has a very favorable view of its Mirage fighters, especially with their high availability. The fact that we lost a few Russian fighters during the Kargil war after which the Mirages came in should not be taken lightly. In the recent past, we shelled out almost $3B to buy their scorpene submarines which adds another dimension to our relationship with the French military-industrial complex. 4. Army gets a lion's share of defense outlays, but the fact is, air power decides the outcome of modern warfare. This has been proven many times especially in the last few decades by the Israelis and Americans. Whether the war is short or long, most land assets including border posts, command posts, radar stations, air fields, bridges, etc etc will be pulverised within a few hours of combat. The Chinese have a huge advantage when it comes to fire power. We simply cannot match them. However having a highly superior air force can change this. It is not a coincidence that we have started purchasing Apaches, Chinooks, C-17s, C-130s, P-8s, SH-60s etc., all from the American stables. The tilt is clearly in favor of superior technology. IAF no longer believes in numbers alone as it is no longer a numbers game and rightly so. China will beat us to pulp if we play the numbers game. Rafale is a good start, in fact it is a great start in the right directions. There are many more factors at play but sadly, having Rafales will not stop China from moving the LAC by force. Neither can it change the mindset of the Indian govt that deliberately confuses and some times hides the facts on the ground. Oh well, lets stick to the topic. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank gb97ce6 for this useful post: | Alfresco, fache89, turbo_delight, V.Narayan, vibbs |
![]() | #63 | |
BHPian Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Delhi
| re: Dassault Rafale, Indian Air Force's new Multi-Role Combat Aircraft! EDIT: MMRCA Evaluation on Page 7 Quote:
In any case, thanks for this detailed and interesting write up. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Car Fan for this useful post: | V.Narayan |
![]() | #64 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2015 Location: Chennai
| re: Dassault Rafale, Indian Air Force's new Multi-Role Combat Aircraft! EDIT: MMRCA Evaluation on Page 7 I didn't see (or did miss?) any mention of the superior availability rates of French aircraft. Russian aircraft often have abysmal availability rates (as low as ~30% with the Mig 29Ks of the Indian Navy, until Shri.Parikkar stepped in and improved it). 36 Rafales might seem low on paper. But rest assured that - assuming a 80% availability between overhauls etc. - 28 aircraft will be available to the IAF at any given time. How did I pull this 80% figure out of my hat? The Ministry of Defence has a 5 year guaranteed 75% availability rate as a KRA of the contract with Dassault. I assume that the Rafales will do better than the minimum expectation of 75% and fare at ~80% availability. On the other hand - if 36 Russian aircraft were ordered instead of Rafales - assuming an optimistic availability rate of 60% (which is a lot for Russian made aircraft) - only 21 aircraft would be available to the IAF at any given time. With a more realistic 40% availability, only 14 of the 36 Russian aircraft would be operable! Disclaimer: I'm fishing for further information from the experts here. Operations is an oft-overlooked aspect of fighter fleets. I'd be glad to be corrected of any misconceptions that I have. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank locusjag for this useful post: | Gannu_1, Red Liner, V.Narayan |
![]() | #65 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Aug 2014 Location: Delhi-NCR
I would be pleased to learn more and get clearer data. Thank you for reading the article. Last edited by V.Narayan : 7th August 2020 at 18:05. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank V.Narayan for this useful post: | dragracer567, Kuldeep31 |
![]() | #66 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2019 Location: Delhi / Dublin
| re: Dassault Rafale, Indian Air Force's new Multi-Role Combat Aircraft! EDIT: MMRCA Evaluation on Page 7 I can think of few reasons wherein the development as well as operational cycle of most of the fighter aircrafts is now in decades - - Economy - the effort, time and resources taken to develop a n aircraft system (even with expertise) is huge and generally prohibitive. Hecen, generally we have incremental updates like SU 27 to Su 30 or KA 50 to KA 52 (Hokum), AH 64 D to E - Current Geo Politics - Most of the innovation as well as fighter aircraft equipments can in one way or the other trace back the roots to either World War II or the Cold war. It was just the necessity and geo-politics of the time that necessiated fast development and deployment of warfare systems. We can also look at missile development in those years spanning from 1940's V2 Rocket to ICBMs in 1970's and onward. Further, now-a-day the new weapon in war is Economics. - Operational Cost - Development and induction of new warfare system is ok, but the operational cost of maintaining, logistics and training is totally another ball game. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Turbo_anup for this useful post: | V.Narayan |
![]() | #67 | ||
BHPian Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Delhi
| Quote:
![]() Quote:
Unfortunately we have no idea what the current situation is regarding serviceability since no CAG reports are available for the post-2014 period that look at this specific question. Last edited by Gannu_1 : 7th August 2020 at 22:40. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Thanks! :) | ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Car Fan for this useful post: | V.Narayan |
![]() | #68 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Feb 2011 Location: SG
I have no doubts that Rafale is a good buy. I have only one question though. All said and done, this was something which was developed years back. For more than two decades, we have ourselves not bought anything substantial. While HAL has made some developments, is it not high time that we should really focus on indigenous development of these assets? The west is advanced, but I am still amazed that we are so much behind them despite the huge demographic advantage and a big enough defence budget. I hope our governments really have the drive to set up world class research and development facilities to develop in this regard. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks vibbs for this useful post: | V.Narayan |
![]() | #69 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: Bangalore
Dirty Dan is right, and we must ask ourselves: if we can send space craft to the moon and Mars at a tenth of what it would cost the west and do it successfully, why is our defence tech so Relatively weak. Narayan sir, maybe this is a good topic for a new thread which I would request for you to start and guide the discussions therein. I would be very interested in learning more. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Red Liner for this useful post: | Kuldeep31, V.Narayan |
![]() | #70 | |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2007 Location: Bangalore
From an actual range perspective, I am not sure if we will ever get to know the accurate/real numbers - considering these are all classified military information. How effective these are, is something one on take it from what the manufacturers, operators or for that matter adversaries (trying to downplay it) claim. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks styx71 for this useful post: | V.Narayan |
![]() | #71 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2008 Location: Pune
| re: Dassault Rafale, Indian Air Force's new Multi-Role Combat Aircraft! EDIT: MMRCA Evaluation on Page 7 @V.Narayan ji, tons of respect to you and your contributions. Thanks for another amazing thread. Being a military brat I believe in Roosevelt's saying "Speak softly and carry a big stick; you will go far" When it comes to our neighbours that's the only thing they understand. Last edited by R2D2 : 7th August 2020 at 21:10. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks R2D2 for this useful post: | V.Narayan |
|
![]() | #72 | |
BHPian Join Date: May 2013 Location: Mumbai
However, the development of the Tejas, will surely provide a critical mass to development of newer planes, as it has provided us with a wealth of knowledge for critical aviation technologies no nation would be willing to share. I sincerely hope to see India develop a good gas turbine engine. Yes, a gas turbine engine development is the pinnacle of material sciences, as the materials in a turbine engine have to tolerate high temperatures and pressures simultaneously, whilst having multiple power settings in a single usage cycle. We are good at rocket engine development, where also similar conditions exist, hence I am perplexed to know why we cannot develop good gas turbine engines. DRDO needs a nice kick on the backside to develop them, especially since they have a wealth of experience on what not to do, as they have tried developing the Kaveri ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank DrPriyankT for this useful post: | Gannu_1, Red Liner, V.Narayan |
![]() | #73 | ||||||
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Aug 2017 Location: Leeds
| Quote:
Back in the days of Kelly Johnson, what you saw was pure engineering on first principles applied to legendary platforms like the Oxcart. I think they were already pushing the limit of what you could achieve with a human handling most of the controls. Once you start bringing in say flying wings etc, ultimately we found ourselves beyond the cognitive limit for a pilot to manage everything and keep the damn thing airborne, let alone prosecute a bombing run. You basically see that massive increase in lead time in civil aviation, passenger car development, everything really. There are just too many interfaces in the development of a new platform in terms of R&D depts, engineering sides, safety compliance, marketing factors and so on and so forth. It was kinda the wild west back then. You developed a specialised tool and got on with it, safety be damned. I also think the scale of some of these companies also slows them down. There must be some sort of sweet spot in terms of size where you have enough engineering talent and disparity of viewpoints to innovate without getting bogged down in the minutiae of procedural hoops. Funny then that it's still pretty much the Skunk Works model of small teams that really do the most rapid cutting edge work. Or to go back to another favourite analogy of mine, take F1 development teams and the breakneck speed at which they can go from the drawing board to a working prototype. Quote:
Last edited by Gannu_1 : 7th August 2020 at 22:40. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Thanks! :) | ||||||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank ads11 for this useful post: | DrPriyankT, V.Narayan, vibbs |
![]() | #74 |
BHPian Join Date: May 2013 Location: Mumbai
| re: Dassault Rafale, Indian Air Force's new Multi-Role Combat Aircraft! EDIT: MMRCA Evaluation on Page 7 ads11 sir, we need to develop turbine engines domestically as we cannot be dependant on foreign suppliers for something as critical as an engine for something as strategic as a jet fighter. Also the gains of developing a jet engine for a fighter can rub off in development of naval gas turbines. For becoming a world power, along with development of space tech, nuclear tech, advanced electronics and genetic research, we need to also master the art of developing a quality turbine engine. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks DrPriyankT for this useful post: | V.Narayan |
![]() | #75 | |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2018 Location: Kolkata
As you said, these are all closely guarded military secrets which will seldom come into the public domain. Till the time it is used in actual operations we will never know. But what matters here is that the PAF and the PLAAF are definitely aware of this range that will act as a strong deterrent. + when IAF pilots are flying Rafale (RCS of 0.05-0.1) it will potentially be close to a 4.8 G machine to reckon with ![]() Last edited by Kuldeep31 : 7th August 2020 at 22:37. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Kuldeep31 for this useful post: | V.Narayan |
![]() |