Old 4th October 2005, 14:03   #1921

Sam, when will the cars arrive? When can we meet you?
Old 4th October 2005, 16:29   #1922

I arrive tomorrow afternoon. The optra is ready, but will need to fit the drive+play in it day after tomorrow.

The eyeballer in enroute from delhi, should be reaching tomorrow itself.
Old 4th October 2005, 16:50   #1923

Title for Sam's autobiography "If it's Tuesday it's Belgium, if it's Wednesday it's Bangalore" :-)
Old 4th October 2005, 17:35   #1924

Arey Sam!

Why did you change your sig bhai? Hope I didn't have a hand with my post......

Every time i read it, i had a smile on my face wondering.........Kis se kya badi?
Old 4th October 2005, 18:08   #1925

Nahi yaar, I change it every few days... lol
YAY, Bangalore get ready for hurricane Sam!
Old 4th October 2005, 22:22   #1926

....and we in Mumbai get a chance to catch our breath.....whew!
Old 5th October 2005, 17:04   #1927

I just got my JBL 606 Compos with a sony amp fitted in my car, but have no fader control.

The installer tells me, that fader control is not possible with just one preamp output.
But I remember all of you telling me that fader is possible with one preamp output.

What is the correct position? and if fader is possible, how exactly do i connect the cables to amp and from thereon to get the fader?
Old 6th October 2005, 00:40   #1928

Guidance needed

Navin,

Please explain me the difference between a dual coil and single coil subwoofer. You know whta i mean...the dual coil has 4 plugins where u can attach wires....because i have a audiobahn 700rms dual coil...dont know wht amp. i should select for it so tht is runs to its optimum performance.
Old 6th October 2005, 00:44   #1929

Moods... please see the thread "Subwoofer Wiring". Its all explained there...
Old 6th October 2005, 00:55   #1930

GB so for a dual coil woof I need a Mono sub or it ont run to its optimal performance
Old 6th October 2005, 09:45   #1931

Originally Posted by SoundManiac
I just got my JBL 606 Compos with a sony amp fitted in my car, but have no fader control.

The installer tells me, that fader control is not possible with just one preamp output.
But I remember all of you telling me that fader is possible with one preamp output.

What is the correct position? and if fader is possible, how exactly do i connect the cables to amp and from thereon to get the fader?
Hi SM,

Your installer is correct. You cannot have fader control with ONE rca pre amp out. However if you use that for the rear amplifier and connect a set of speakers to the front HU output, you will then have fader control.
Old 6th October 2005, 09:50   #1932

Hello Bangalore!!!

OK so i'm here, and I'm super duper excited (as usual)

I also have a little surprise for you unsuspecting car audio lovers. I should be posting it tomorrow morning (hopefully)
A little worried because the Palio Eyeballer has still not reached Bangalore. (It was in New Delhi for the previous exhibition, remember?) Now have to install the harman drive+play in the optra, before i take it there. Will be a rushed job.
Everything in Bangalore is "kindly adjust" and "chumma". For a hyper child like me that is the most frustrating ever! Can you imagine, the Vaahan Yatra starts tomorrow and the Palio is still not in Bangalore!!

OK I'm calm now.
Bye for today!
Sam
Old 6th October 2005, 10:21   #1933

Originally Posted by SoundManiac
The installer tells me, that fader control is not possible with just one preamp output.?
with 1 preamp out the fader fades between the front speaker out and the rear preout or rear speaker out.

so if you have 2 speakers connected to the front channels of the HU's amp and then a amp connected to the preamp out you can fade between the same.

if you want you cna switch the amp/preamp connections and connect your rear speakers to the front speaker out of the HU and the front speakers to the amp. this way when you fade to the front you will be in reality fading to the rear.

confused....dont say you weren't warned!
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7684
there is a good reason why this was made a sticky! LOL
Old 6th October 2005, 12:34   #1934

Dvc

How would I connect a 2 channel amp to a DVC sub......is series better or parallel. I am asking this bcause I have a 2 channel amp. and a DVC woof and I have gone though the thread "subwoofer wirings

Last edited by moodswings : 6th October 2005 at 12:36. Reason: dvc
Old 6th October 2005, 13:38   #1935

Thank you Sam and Navin. Got your points and no navinji am not confused....

But tell me one thing - What exactly does One preamp output mean in terms of sockets on a HU?

1) just one output socket on Head Unit from which two jacks - Left channel and Right Channel go the amp

or

2) Two sockets a Left channel output and a right channel output on the HU with each going respectively to the Left channel input and Right channel input on the Amp?

A supplementary and a workaround for fader control follows the answer to this query.....

so, What does this preamp output on the HU look like? 1 or 2? If someone can post a photo also, it will be really nice.......

Last edited by SoundManiac : 6th October 2005 at 13:41.