Old 26th November 2008, 12:27   #1

Ford Fiesta-- JBL setup query.

Hello ICE gurus , yesterday my uncle gave me gift which is in regards of an amplifier and a sub.
The sub is a ---JBL GTO 1260 BR
The amp is -- JBL GT5 A 604

My car is a FORD FIESTA 1.6 ZXI which is equipped with a kenwood head unit-- KDC MP336
And the speakers are Ford OE which are decent and have satisfactory clarity and bass.

I am posting the pics of the above said elements, please the picture quality is pathetic so please oblige.

What should I do in order to install the amp and sub?

Should I change the HU-- speakers?

Kindly advise I am very desperate. One more important question will installing this setup void my warranty?

Very sorry for asking so many questions but please dont be annoyed.
Ford Fiesta-- JBL setup query.-dsc01158.jpg  

Ford Fiesta-- JBL setup query.-dsc01159.jpg  

Ford Fiesta-- JBL setup query.-dsc01160.jpg  

Ford Fiesta-- JBL setup query.-dsc01161.jpg  

Ford Fiesta-- JBL setup query.-dsc01157.jpg  

Ford Fiesta-- JBL setup query.-dsc00393.jpg  

Old 26th November 2008, 12:49   #2

Firstly congratulations on having such a cool uncle. lol.

The 604 is a 4 channel amplifier. You can use 2 channels to drive a pair of speakers and can bridge one pair to drive the subwoofer.
This will work and will give you some decent bass, but ideally you would need some more power to drive the woofer.

Still, it depends on your budget. If you can, you should get yourself a monoblock amplifier to drive the subwoofer and use the 604 to drive 4 speakers.
Still - if this is it, then simply bridge the rear channels to drive the subwoofer and use the front channel to drive the front speakers (assuming the car is self-driven)

I am not 100% sure if the HU you have has RCA pre-outs. Any other Fiesta owners here?
Old 26th November 2008, 13:12   #3

I would suggest you can opt for the Front+Rear Budget HU,as the Kenwood KDC MP336 have only 1 pre-out,the JBL GT5-604 is a decent amp but i would suggest you can upgrade the front speakers to Components like JBL,Illusion Audio etc. and also upgrade the rear with decent 6x 9"coaxials and a JBL3001 or a JBL3501 will put more juice to the GTO1260 Subwoofer

Ramie
Old 26th November 2008, 17:07   #4

Well if the idea is only to get the two into your car then all you need is the appropriate sub box and cabling and you are good to go. now i'm not sure if your sub is svc or dvc so i can't tell you how it is to be wired to the amp. unless you WANT to do other upgrades.
Old 26th November 2008, 17:47   #5

@fidaford - hope you got an idea how TBHP ICE section is. You got a nice sub and amp free and now you are getting advices to spend your money (HU, components, ovals etc). These people will never let you walk freely

If the HU has only one pre-out then things will be difficult. As most of our pals said, if you have budget (?? me too), change to a good HU with 3 pre-outs (around 6K) and components for front. Try if you can trade your equipments. Connect the components and sub through amp and leave the rear co-ax to HU. Or as Sam said, connect all four speakers through this amp and get a dedicated mono for sub.
Old 26th November 2008, 18:39   #6

The ford OE Speakers are 25 watts, It wont be a good idea to connect them to the Amp.
Old 26th November 2008, 20:05   #7

Thank you everyone for your replies but unfortunately I am on a very tight budget say 6-7k
what are my options in this budget?
I know it is a very small budget and cannot match tbhpian standards but I will try to stretch it by another 2-3 k
My budget is less because:
1-- I do not know much about ICE
2-- I listen to music at low volumes.
3-- I prefer clarity which I think will be derived through the sub.
4-- I was not aware of my uncle gifting these to me and I was not looking for a upgrade earlier hence confused.
5-- Please guide me and do you think I should invest in components or a nice HU like alpine.
Old 28th November 2008, 19:54   #8

Hey guys no replies?
Please try to help me out here I am desperate.

If I do not get any replies I am going to donate the gifts

P.S: I am just kidding
Old 28th November 2008, 21:22   #9

Well Owing to you budget constrains your best bet woud be go for a pio 5050 with front compos like the JBL GT5-S265C.You can get both for about 11-12k.
I would reccomend you go for pio in grey & Jbl with b&w.
Old 29th November 2008, 02:05   #10

Gr8 gift i must say!!! Now you should first upgrade your HU. Two Options-
1) Cheapest 3 RCA pre-out - Pioneer 5050 (around 6k in grey)- Pros - USB, Good setting options, Cons- Random function and not that gr8 display.
2) Kenwood 6539 - If you could get it w/o B&W (with bill it's near 9K) - Pros - SQ, Display, Cons- none to me

For Components in front - Two VFM options with gr8 SQ would be -
1) JBL GTO608c- Gr8 VFM but a little bright
2) Bull Compo - VFM and perfect sound
Both costs somewhere 4k (W/o B&W). Better if you listen and choose. You have Illusions too in the range of 7k. Heard they are pretty good.
Old 30th November 2008, 09:46   #11

Originally Posted by superbhikari View Post
For Components in front - Two VFM options with gr8 SQ would be -
1) JBL GTO608c- Gr8 VFM but a little bright
2) Bull Compo - VFM and perfect sound
Both costs somewhere 4k (W/o B&W). Better if you listen and choose.
Hey Superbhikari (funny name)

Have you heard both the components you mentioned yourself?

I wasn't aware that the 608 was available for a price that low.

Lastly please avoid SMS type language (gr8) it is frowned upon at TBHP.

Sam
Old 30th November 2008, 10:02   #12

Yea Sam , 608c can be had for 4k without b/w from many shops in Delhi.
Old 30th November 2008, 11:32   #13

Hey Superbhikari (funny name)

Have you heard both the components you mentioned yourself?

I wasn't aware that the 608 was available for a price that low.

Lastly please avoid SMS type language (gr8) it is frowned upon at TBHP.

Sam
Hello Sam
Yes i did audition Bull and JBL 608 and having 607 in my NHC. That's why i suggested it, solely my personal opinion.

JBL 608c are surely available around 4k in grey in and around Delhi.

Definitely will careful for that SMS kind of language at T-bhp in future.

Gandhar
Old 30th November 2008, 11:46   #14

superbhikari : While its a matter of personal tastes altogether but I would request you NOT to compare JBL with Bull audio sound wise! They are poles apart.
Old 30th November 2008, 13:10   #15

@panky12345, he didn't - he just said he had auditioned, and he should be able to tell the difference, if any. Right?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com