Search this Thread
Old 20th September 2023, 10:02   #1
Distinguished - BHPian

Installing Car audio (ICE) myself | My way of beating post operative blues

Introduction

The intent behind these posts is not to

* define or defend the choice of audio equipment shortlisted and installed

* claim that I have in-depth knowledge of audio equipment

but the intent definitely is to narrate how one can beat blues by undertaking something exciting, all by oneself!

Background

I've already outlined my journey pre and post coronary artery surgery here. It is a known fact that many folks who go through this procedure suffer lows, and I was warned of the same by my well wishers. For me, excitement = try something challenging, something I've never done before on my own. Post discharge from hospital, I'd already set myself two small targets to keep the excitement alive

1. charging automotive aircon refrigerant myself (already documented on the forum)
2. getting an ICE installed

For item#2 above, I was thinking of what equipment to source, from whom to source, and where to get this installed, when suddenly, taking a cue from target#1, I thought to myself, "Why not do this myself?". Although the decision to do it myself hadn't been taken, the die seemed to have already been cast!

Last edited by graaja : 20th September 2023 at 22:17. Reason: As requested
vigsom is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 20th September 2023, 10:12   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

Re: Installing Car audio (ICE) myself | My way of beating post operative blues

Project ICE - ingredients

Having got audio upgrades done in two of my earlier cars, I was absolutely clear on re-using the equipment I've been carrying all these years, and only filling the blanks.

What was available

1. Kenwood 6033BT Head Unit already in the car
2. RCA cables - I had 4 of them from my 2003 Toyota Corolla; two long RCAs and two of medium length