Old 16th July 2007, 18:49   #151

Originally Posted by ScarySkulls View Post
Loh kar lo Gheo nu bhanda

The post that you replied to says the Guy never used MP3 in his reference grade HU.
Does that automatically imply that he didnt have the song in original ACD? Or didnt have the Internet to buy the high quality version of it?
riddle me this
You are out to work. When you come out of the building, you notice that the weather is suddenly calm and cool you have a high end hu which doesn't play mp3 but have a lap top with a data card and a cd burner in it you strongly feel the urge to listen to "dream a little dream of me" by mama cass (and i challenge it how many can find a cd for that in India), but your life would seem a little more beautiful if those sound waves of that particular song met your ear drums! what do you do?

i again say technology is to make life simpler not complicate it.
Old 16th July 2007, 18:52   #152

Are yaar. I think Sam answered this question already. and little nobody in car audio scene--->Me also answered it. Why putting it up again?
Old 16th July 2007, 19:13   #153

Baap re, words like female dog, flasher and what not are being flung like dung across the room.

Please be nice, this is ICE. (Hey that RHYMED) We pride ourselves on running with minimum moderation. Let's not lose that reputation.

Some of you are new here. Just some advice, we're all friends here. Really. Let's just chill out, be nice.

Those with unanswered questions, you will get your answers, but not in this volatile environment. No, lol, not from me, I'm no audiopile or guru.

But this was an intelligent conversation, let's keep it this way.

LBM, stop being stubborn. Please, for my sake. I answered your question.
Take it easy people.
Old 16th July 2007, 19:14   #154

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Sir I agree that one can tell the differnce between the Audio CD and MP3 myself so no need for comparison test. What I am trying to say is that can anyone tell which of the one is being played Audio CD or MP3. Can they spot the differnce. Can they.
without reference material no. no one can. i wont say it again, your question is not valid. no one in this world IMHO can do that without reference material.
if anyone can, he would be god or a magician(kidding). does that mean you dont need high end equipment? i dont think so.

clip
Old 16th July 2007, 19:16   #155

Why would a purist CD player (in other words- "lenses pickup" or "transport" or whatever) sound better than a cheapo when it is digitally connected to rest of the system?
Well put...
or even if it has to be connected in Analog (I have a purist Analog Amplifier for my home setup), then why should connecting that cheapo digital pickup to a high quality DAC and then connecting it to the Amp be any better or worse than connecting a purist ACD player to the Amp

(Assuming that the external DAC is of equal or better quality than the DAC in the purist CD player)
Old 16th July 2007, 19:37   #156

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
No, lol, not from me, I'm no audiopile or guru.

Guruji Yeti Maharaj, that was the understatement of the year.
Old 16th July 2007, 20:01   #157

Originally Posted by abhi182 View Post
Well put...
or even if it has to be connected in Analog (I have a purist Analog Amplifier for my home setup), then why should connecting that cheapo digital pickup to a high quality DAC and then connecting it to the Amp be any better or worse than connecting a purist ACD player to the Amp

(Assuming that the external DAC is of equal or better quality than the DAC in the purist CD player)
If you thought it was well put, then why are you complicating it?

To preserve all of the theoretical audio quality in the recording, being bit-accurate is not enough. Reproducing audio samples at exact time intervals as they were originally intended to be is also important, but only when feeding DACs. It is not important when, say, you are copying it from one storage medium to another, where being bit-accurate is absolutely enough. Therefore the "jitter" comes into play in the final digital stream that is going to be received by DACs. But I believe there exists a very simple remedy to tackle this issue, as I had explained earlier under point 3 in post #117 (http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/ask-gu...tml#post501363)
Think of it as something like "shock-proof" memory feature in car CD players, but at much finer time precision.

If your DACs actually keep the final jitter within "audiophile" limits (which I guess it does, and so I presume for any decent receiver in my example system), then I agree with you.

Last edited by santosh.s : 16th July 2007 at 20:18.
Old 16th July 2007, 20:12   #158

My DACs get the feed straight from my Macintosh's Hard drive...no jitter to worry about
Old 16th July 2007, 20:18   #159

Originally Posted by abhi182 View Post
My DACs get the feed straight from my Macintosh's Hard drive...no jitter to worry about
How are they interfaced to the PC? through which port?
Old 16th July 2007, 21:04   #160

the DAC connects via usb and I use ASIO drivers to do a clean , low latency pass through of the data to the DAC

Audio Stream Input/Output - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
The resultant output technically betters what a $1000 CDP can handle
Old 16th July 2007, 22:19   #161

Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Why?

I wanted to point out that in a high end system, when there is no fine distinction between a ACD and MP3 in a given environment, then why not include the feature. It doesnt mean that there is no distinction between a low end and a high end system.
sorry i missed a "not" in your earlier post. Me bad.
Old 16th July 2007, 22:26   #162

Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
navin, this not the answer to my question.:-) i asked why cant your marantz burn a cd-r? why have marantz excluded other media? there should be some reason. can you shed some light on this?
Actually I dont see a reason why Marantz did that. The object I feel must have been to protect copyright laws as one CANNOT make a copy from a MUsic CD copy one can only make a copy from the original CD. Music CDs must have some bits that tell recorders that they are not originals.

In fact I have heard of cases where someone would slip a blank Music CD into a CD recorder (older Marantzes than mine) and after the CD was recognised but before starting recordig manually pull the drawer out and stick a regulat CD in it and it would make the recording just fine.
Old 16th July 2007, 22:50   #163

hey guys I think this post has meandered into multiple threads...
Old 16th July 2007, 23:21   #164

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
My main reason to ask this question is that the Audiophile spending on a expensive setup.

Why is he spending lacs of rupees to get the best SQ which he cannot judge? Or it is like a satisfaction he is getting that he has spend so much and he is getting the best in terms of output and SQ?
First person who qualifies for this question is you?

Can you tell us why have you spent so money on Pioneer HU + Alpine RUX/PXA 701, Steg K Series Amplifiers, DLS Iridiums, ID Max's, supra cables / neutrik connectors and the works when you claim that you cannot differentiate between 320kbps MP3 and original CD playback. Also you are a strong believer of so called watt is a watt theory then why such an expense.

Santosh,

Transports does make difference to sound quality irrespective of DAC's.

We have A-B'd couple of them using common high-end outboard DAC and cables, every player sounded different. The players with solid transports sounded way better than the ones with lighter build.

Last edited by Autophile : 16th July 2007 at 23:24.
Old 16th July 2007, 23:25   #165

Originally Posted by techn9ne View Post
what does that mean? it means you don't have a very strong urge and never ever get a real bad itch to listen to music then and there. it makes you just a installer or techy guy nuthin more not a person who has spent lacs to listen to 100% pure music. just a flasher!
Hahahah. So far you've called me quite a few names on this thread. And I find it amusing. My friend you are indeed funny. Unfortunately, at best... thats all you are.

If you could back your arguments with some facts, or learn from the facts presented here, it would be nice to argue with you, purely for the sake of knowledge (gained or imparted).

Instead every one of your posts (interestingly your only posts) has been pointed at me. Even more interesting is the fact that behind an avatar pic of a hummer, talk of hummers and 26"ers and bling, you are actually not whom you appear to be. It is evident to most here you have an agenda, and what that agenda is.

So, welcome to the club. And please continue your witch hunt, call me all the names you want. But don't expect to be taken seriously. Not by me at least.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com