Old 8th March 2006, 13:11   #16

Originally Posted by jkdas
its coz of tax problems!
one should be smart enough to handle such questions....

look at navin's post...

what is the total cost???

i dint keep track...

Old 8th March 2006, 13:24   #17

Nah I am serious.

How do you keep track of 2 D26NC torn out of a Vifa speaker, a 9830 stripped out of the Octy and installed in the Sail, etc.. My system has too many odd parts for me to track. I built the fiberglass deck myself. I dont remember what i paid for the resin or fiber mat or even the polyester caps i used to modify the crossovers.
Old 8th March 2006, 14:35   #18

1. Car
Mitsubishi Lancer. You can see pictures of the car in the garage section.

2. what is your existing setup (HEADUNITS, SPEAKERS, AMPS, DSP,SW etc.)

I like my music to be easy and balanced. For the lancer i chose a system that would essentially sound lovely with the kind of music i like. I have a slight advantage over most people when it comes to putting ICE lol. Ghar ki kheti. Pluck and put

Anyways this is what I use.

1) Some Alpine Deck 75 something witha 6 CDMP3 changer. Lovely sounding, even with MP3s

2) JBL GTO 2000 amplifier 1 no

3) JBL GTO 4000 amplifier 1 no

4) JBL CS 1200T Bass tube (The GTO 2000 is bridged into this tube)

5) Infinity 6X9 Kappa 693.5i with emit for the rear

6) Infinity Kappa 50.5 components in the front with crossover setting on low

7) All speaker wiring is Van Den Hul - The Clearline 12 gauge (heh heh)

8) RCA cabling is the stunning XLN series from monster cable.

3. How much did it cost ?

Free

4.How serious were your about your system?
Heh heh heh quite

5. which kind of music do you listen to ?? prefer deep bass or how is it...

I love a slightly forward system, slightly more accentuated lows and subdued highs. Throaty vocals make my hair stand lots and i like good bass too.
I listen to a lot of music with open spaces, like Godspeed You Black Emperor, Radiohead, i also love progressive and vocal house, rap (classic deathrow and no limit records), drum and bass(Amon tobin and goldie), electro and funk, boards of canada, books, clint mansell, classic rock, camel, CCR, sabbath and ofcourse experimental dark music, gothic and lots lots more

6. would you recommend it to others???

Yeah-uh!
Old 8th March 2006, 18:24   #19

Originally Posted by rsjaurr

Infact infinty kappa and 1040 subw r not available here.[Sam can correst me here]
Kappas are available. Though not everywhere.
Old 8th March 2006, 20:34   #20

1. car

Santro Xing

what is your existing setup (HEADUNITS, SPEAKERS, AMPS, DSP,SW etc.)

HU: Sony CDX7500 (Rs.7500, got from Germany)
Front: JBL GT0 426e (2.5k B&W)
Rear: JBL GTO 606e (6k B&W)
Amp: Pioneer X324; power all the speakers ( forgot the price)

Cost of system Rs. 2.5+6+7.5 +1.2 = 17.2k + amp price
Installation + cables: 1.2k or so

Very JBL, very JBL!.

Whatver I can get hold off. MISS the sub :( that should haev been a JBL 1200B powered by 301.1 or 300.1 ) Happy?

Me recommend??? HAHA

Seller was damn happy that he got a JBL Demo deck and hence I got discount on everything . Thanks Sam
Old 8th March 2006, 23:32   #21

1. Car

Swift

--Pioneer 9450mp HU (waiting for 9800)
--Pioneer Kevlar 6.5 components for front
--Pioneer Kevlar 6.5 componets for rear
--Pioneer 3004spl sub in ported box with ports from audison
--Pioneer 944 amplifier-4ch for componets
--Alpine MRD-M1005 (two pcs) each for the Subwoofer
--Boss Cap (two)
--Boss preout wires (changing to audison)
--2AWG Amp Wiring (changing to audison)

about 170k

well I had Viva before so i was not so satisfied with the sound of that so i bought a hatchback for this purpose

5. which kind of music do you listen to ??

Punjabi,Hiphop

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

7. Place where the setup was done

75 % myself and 25% from a local car installer who knows how to open the car door panels and dash board for installing the HU and like wise stuff
Old 8th March 2006, 23:46   #22

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker
75 % myself and 25% from a local car installer who knows how to open the car door panels and dash board for installing the HU and like wise stuff
Hi LBM... it was nice meeting you last Sunday at Driven (mayapuri).

I have to say this folks... for a DIY, he has done an excellent job. Of course earlier he did not have a source for stuff like cables, ports, distribution blocks etc but even then, he has installed the system better than most installers.
Old 8th March 2006, 23:48   #23

Originally Posted by gunbir
Hi LBM... it was nice meeting you last Sunday at Driven (mayapuri).

I have to say this folks... for a DIY, he has done an excellent job. Of course earlier he did not have a source for stuff like cables, ports, distribution blocks etc but even then, he has installed the system better than most installers.
gunbir, waiting to know about your ICE setup.
Old 9th March 2006, 00:55   #24

Originally Posted by tifosikrishna
gunbir, waiting to know about your ICE setup.

1. Car

2004 Hyundai Getz GLS

Head Unit -- Clarion HX-D2 also known as DRZ-9255 (Rs. 65000)... Flagship audiophile CD player... no mp3, no dolphins, no colours, no motorised faceplate... just sweet sweet sound...

Front Stage -- Hertz Hi-Energy HSK165 (Rs. 13800) running active, xo at 80Hz and 3.15KHz... but keeps changing... next upgrade coming soon...

Rear Fill -- Image Dynamics CTX6 (Rs. 7220) coaxials... xo at 80Hz

Sub -- Image Dynamics iDQ12 D2 (Rs. 12550) in a sealed .85cuft enclosure.

Amp 1 -- Tru Technology T4.65 amp (Rs. 36945 approx) powers the front tweeters off 2 channels and the midbasses off the other two.

Amp 2 -- Tru Technology T4.65 amp (Rs. 36945 approx) powers the rear fills with two channels and the other 2 channels are bridged to power the sub with about 200 Tru watts

Power Cables -- upgrading to Connection Audison 2g soon... (Rs. 8000-10000 approx)... No stiffening caps

Interconnects -- Connection Audison Sonus ST2600 x 4 (Rs. 5840 x 4 = 23360)... used to have Monster Micro XLN cables earlier, just put these in... BIG change in sound... treble much much smoother and bass has a lot more definition, soundstage is more centered.

Speaker Cables -- Kimber Kable 4PR (Rs. 6000 approx)... will be upgraded to Connection Audison Sonus speaker cables soon.

hmm... would cost around 2.1 Lakh...

My first install was when I was 14... installed a pair of speakers on my bicycle, would connect to my walkman. My moms car was next and the rest as they say is history...

5. which kind of music do you listen to ??

umm... from the top of my head... Everything from Patricia Barber, Diana Krall, Norah Jones to Guns n Roses, Dire Straits, Eric Clapton, Bob Marley, Alan Parsons Project to Dr Dre (hey Sam... W), Ludacris, Missy Elliot, The Game to Chemical Brothers, The Prodigy, Timo Mass, to Craig Armstrong, Dusted, Massive Attack to Bollywood, Indipop and so much more... Actually as long as its good creative music (and not some lame attempt on someones laptop) and recorded well... I'll listen to anything.

Hell yeah...

7. Place where the setup was done

Install done mostly at Jb's home and Driven's shop, tweaks and experiments done on daily basis at many a roadside.
Old 9th March 2006, 10:35   #25

i started this thread thinking that it would help janta identify a system, gosh looking at the costs, i guess it will drive them away
Old 9th March 2006, 11:11   #26

i started this thread thinking that it would help janta identify a system, gosh looking at the costs, i guess it will drive them away
LOL...
OK.. "Janta" system on my Accent: PIO 4750 with 4 Kenwood 150W speakers, Rs. 8.5 K.

Now beat that.
Old 9th March 2006, 11:28   #27

Originally Posted by MalluDude
LOL...
OK.. "Janta" system on my Accent: PIO 4750 with 4 Kenwood 150W speakers, Rs. 8.5 K.

Now beat that.
Dude, thats what i was exactly looking for.... ideally we should have all combos right from 2k cassette player to a 2lac setup....nobody searching for a system should go back disappointed...

Last edited by tifosikrishna : 9th March 2006 at 11:30.
Old 9th March 2006, 14:38   #28

vivek, amp is the 600w 4 channel one right??? how much did it cost. i am planning to buy one.
I paid Rs 7500. Grey stuff.
Old 10th March 2006, 13:05   #29

Originally Posted by buzzin_hornets
1. Car

Honda City 1.5 Exi

Head unit : Pioneer P1Y
Front comps: 6.5 inch JBL GTO Series
Rear Speakers : AudioBahn
Sub Woofer: (1) AudioBahn Special Edition
(2) Twister
4 channel Amp: (1) ProSound 800w (AudioBahn Sub)
(2) ProSound 800w (JBL Comps + AudioBahn Speakers)
2 Channel Amp: Twister 300w (Twister Sub)

60k Approx

Very Serious, I love music n wanted a good ICE Setup

hmm.. i like trance, hip-hop/rap, rock.. i prefer deep bass, ive chosen my subs accordingly..

Yep.

YOU GOT ALL THAT FOR 60K... Where man ???
Old 10th March 2006, 13:30   #30

Originally Posted by jkdas

Seller was damn happy that he got a JBL Demo deck and hence I got discount on everything . Thanks Sam
lol JK couldnt get a demo for the speakers in Kerala, so he must be the only customer the seller ever had, who arranged that the SHOP OWNER got a JBL demo rack( Thanks to his contacts on a certain community of enthusiasts - what was the name of that site again? Team-BHP.com )

To top it all off, JK was the unofficial mascot for JBL for 3 whole months for coining the phrase "Let's JBLfy" lol.