Old 21st June 2006, 16:45   #136

Originally Posted by kb100
1000% ... I have a long way to go BEFORE I reach LBM's level of knowledge... His passion is sometimes my inspiration!
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble
LBM, actually you too. I am amazed by your dedication to the cause of car audio and this forum. You ain't a long way either, plus or minus a few chickens.
Please people now u r pulling my leg I am not a guru it can be said that I can be some help for anyone It will be my pleasure.
Old 21st June 2006, 16:50   #137

Originally Posted by speedzak
ALPINE PXA-H701 Processor
ALPINE TYPE X 12" Subwoofer in a sealed enclosure
It a perfect product for a car audio setup. But beware it will bring tears to ur eyes while tunning it and after listing to it if tuned properly......

U will be needing to upgrade ur amp also for the woofer to put out its best .......

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 21st June 2006 at 16:51.
Old 21st June 2006, 16:54   #138

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker

U will be needing to upgrade ur amp also for the woofer to put out its best .......
Do You mean that ALPINE MRD-M605 monoblock is not enough to fire the Type X??
Old 21st June 2006, 17:24   #139

605??... Why not the 1005
Old 21st June 2006, 17:40   #140

Ya man the 605 is a small amp when compared to type -x

http://www.alpine-usa.com/en/product...odel=SWX-1242D
http://www.alpine-usa.com/en/product...model=MRD-M605

mrd 605
RMS Power (at 14.4V,20Hz-200Hz)
Per channel into 4 ohms : 400W x 1
Per channel into 2 ohms : 600W x 1
(I could not find the 12 volt rating so cannot comment on that)

so u can see that the amp max is 600 watts rms only and the sub will be running at 600 watts only but the sub is rated 1000 watts rated. So u will be using 60 % of it the rest 40 % will be left away.......
Old 21st June 2006, 17:55   #141

RMS Power at 12V, 20Hz-200Hz
  • Per channel into 2 ohms : 400W x 1
  • Per channel into 4 ohms : 250W x 1
BTW LBM, somebody told me that on car-start mode u get 14.4V (+/-) so, ratings @ 14.4V are kinda accurate unless u intend to run ur system on a shut-engine mode (12V). wat do u think?

Last edited by panky12345 : 21st June 2006 at 17:57.
Old 21st June 2006, 23:01   #142

Ya man the 605 is a small amp when compared to type -x
My car wont accept anything bigger than that I think. I'm speaking of space constraints here.
Any ALPINE monoblock amp comes in same size but more power packed?
Old 21st June 2006, 23:07   #143

My car wont accept anything bigger than that I think. I'm speaking of space constraints here.
Firstly we must not discuss this in this thread . But which space constraints u r facing...
Old 21st June 2006, 23:53   #144

Firstly we must not discuss this in this thread . But which space constraints u r facing...
You're gladly welcome to : http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/car-en...fo-needed.html

I cant find place to fit in a bigger amp.
Old 21st June 2006, 23:56   #145

my PA275 would be the smallest amp @ 260W@ 4ohm, no?
Old 22nd June 2006, 00:10   #146

Originally Posted by jkdas
my PA275 would be the smallest amp @ 260W@ 4ohm, no?
But what about the POWER???? Something above 1000W RMS???
Old 22nd June 2006, 01:37   #147

Zak you can also consider the new Alpine PDX 1.1000 amp. A bit expensive at $800, it has a really small footprint but can put out good power (according to their specs).

We arent big fans of the current Alpine amps though. Look at the S/N ratio of their current amps vis-a-vis their earlier ones. Your 605 has a 65dB S/N ratio. Thats not too good. The PDX fares better at 80dB, but even that isnt spectacular by any standards...

If you really want better bass performance, try some better spec'ed amps. Tool's Alpine 1001 is a great mono amp. Clean, Powerful and Quick. See if you can get yourself one of those. But its not a small amp by any standards...

Last edited by gunbir : 22nd June 2006 at 01:39.
Old 22nd June 2006, 12:49   #148

kya baat hai guru log! i was looking fwd to somebody answering my query @ # 142. gunman, LBM, navin, sam, kb100, B&T.....

Last edited by panky12345 : 22nd June 2006 at 12:51.
Old 22nd June 2006, 12:58   #149

Originally Posted by panky12345
BTW LBM, somebody told me that on car-start mode u get 14.4V (+/-) so, ratings @ 14.4V are kinda accurate unless u intend to run ur system on a shut-engine mode (12V). wat do u think?
In a "shut-engine" mode you WILL NOT get 12 Volts ... Chances are you will get around 11V or lesser (due to the connected load)

Other than that what exactly is your question?
Old 22nd June 2006, 13:53   #150

Originally Posted by panky12345
BTW LBM, somebody told me that on car-start mode u get 14.4V (+/-) so, . wat do u think?
yeah.......u r right but in older battries u wont get 14.4volts even with engine on.

Last edited by rsjaurr : 22nd June 2006 at 14:08.