Re: ARTICLE: The Best (used) Enthusiast cars for 6 lakh rupees! Or less Hey everyone!
So I'm a 28 year old University Professor and the other day I was chatting with some coworkers who are around my age about their vehicles when they asked me, "Given your love for cars, how come you don't own one? You definitely earn better than us! You could afford one, could you not?" And I was like, "That... is a good question."
I've always been a car enthusiast. But I guess I've never had the guts to even consider buying one. The ownership costs, as detailed in the "The real cost of owning a car", have scared me off. Also, I'm lazy. I love driving but don't like maintaining cars. I've driven all of two cars, both owned by my father. The first one was 2010 Chevrolet Beat LT. And the current one, which is registered in my name, is a 2021 Nexon EV XZ+. Sure, when I discussed this at home, my father said, "You do own a car! Our Nexon is yours." But I know he's just trying to placate me. Deep down, I'm also kinda scared of proposing to him that I want to own a car. We bought the Nexon because we were tired of the ever-rising fuel costs and he'd flip at the mere suggestion of me buying another car and that too an ICE one because I can't afford an EV for sure.
So given my apprehensiveness about all this, "hypothetically" speaking, if I were to toy with the idea of owning a car, I think I'd go with a pre-owned one at first. Keep the risks as low as possible, you know? Maybe something affordable to get me started. Now I obviously did my research (mostly on TeamBHP forums) and found a useful thread from a couple years ago where GTO recommended a few cars that are reliable pre-owned:
1. Toyota Corolla Altis E140 VL AT
2. Toyota Etios (Diesel)
3. Honda City
Love the recommendations! But let's take a look at what my requirements might be.
1. I stay wherever I am working but my major trips would be to my parents' place (Greater Noida) and being in NCR, we frequently visit Delhi. Yeah, the same city which has banned any Petrol vehicles older than 15 years and Diesels older than 10 years. So preferably, a 2011 or above Petrol model.
2. I say Petrol model because all I know about Diesels is that they pollute the environment more and need to be driven regularly. If anyone can convince me otherwise, feel free to. With the rising fuel costs, I'd like to keep the usage limited anyways. I may be a petrolhead but I've suffered the public transit of this country long enough to take that as and when required. Probably won't be relying on the car too much.
3. I'm a lazy ass and absolutely loathe getting bogged down with boring tasks, such as taking the car for frequent trips to the service center or washing it (my sincerest apologies to fellow enthusiasts but that's just who I am). So my priority is to find something reliable. Which, by the way, spells Toyota to my untrained mind.
4. Budget needs to be constrained. Like 4-5 Lac constrained (although the lesser, the better). This will be my first ever car and if something were to go wrong, I shudder at the mere thought. I've always been risk-averse which is how I've managed to last this long without a car despite having a job and a decent salary. Still don't want to take a huge risk. I want to start small and build some confidence before I become and actual enthusiast with some fancy wheels.
5. I am single but whenever I'm at home so my parents might use it so... that's about it for my use case, I think? I'm crazy for all things "swiss-knife" so a car that has a go-anywhere, do anything attitude would be my preference. Building on that, at one point I considered the Ford Ecosport because it's a CSUV with enough GC and I assumed Ford exiting India might mean I might score a deal on one but I'm sure I'm missing the finer points of the argument which more experienced members might be able to highlight. (Spare parts availability becoming a potential issue maybe? Idk).
With that in mind, any suggestions for this "hypothetical"? Just considering it a fun thought experiment at this stage. Nothing too serious. But if I do end up pulling the trigger, can someone remind me the rule of thumb that went something like, "Your car EMIs should be 1/4th of your monthly salary" or some such? I earn 7+ lpa.
Sure, I probably don't exactly need a car right now. But sometimes I think life's too short to hold off on your biggest dreams. Maybe I should take the plunge. Besides, GTO's thread on "The not-so-obvious advantages of buying a pre-owned car" has convinced me that even if something were to go wrong, I probably won't end up losing a big deal.
Any inputs are welcome. |