Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On buying a car

Old 2nd December 2023, 02:10   #241

Re: ARTICLE: Buying a New car with an Older manufacturing date

Hi all, I have recently booked a Hyundai Verna and while I was about to do the PDI, I figured by looking at the Form 22, the car is July 23 manufactured while I will take the delivery in Dec 23. So effectively its a 6 month old car. Should I go take the delivery?
My loan have been sanctioned but I have not released any payment other than the booking amount. I have also asked them not to make any invoice and to avoid that I haven't released any money without doing the PDI first. What would be you advice, considering Verna have good sales ans just 2 to 4 weeks waiting period. Please, experts help here 🙏🏿
Old 2nd December 2023, 18:14   #242

Originally Posted by baridbej View Post
Hi all, I have recently booked a Hyundai Verna and while I was about to do the PDI, I figured by looking at the Form 22, the car is July 23 manufactured while I will take the delivery in Dec 23. So effectively its a 6 month old car. Should I go take the delivery?
My loan have been sanctioned but I have not released any payment other than the booking amount. I have also asked them not to make any invoice and to avoid that I haven't released any money without doing the PDI first. What would be you advice, considering Verna have good sales ans just 2 to 4 weeks waiting period. Please, experts help here 🙏🏿

Very much in the same boat, just that Verna DCT Turbo allocated to me is August manufactured. I am not certain if I should go ahead and take the delivery, especially when the car is electronically loaded these days.

Need advice from fellow BHPians.
Old 3rd December 2023, 07:54   #243

Originally Posted by encounter1209 View Post
Very much in the same boat, just that Verna DCT Turbo allocated to me is August manufactured. I am not certain if I should go ahead and take the delivery, especially when the car is electronically loaded these days.

Yesterday I went to the meet the dealership manager. My only concerns are that the car should not be a old stock of the dealer. So I was trying to find a proof that shows the same. Will have to wait a bit more for that.
As far as electrical is concerned I think that should not be much of a problem as the battery will be disconnected. But with a dealership old stock there could be lot of niggles and a very through PDI would be required. But if the dealer received is later from the factory then it should be okay. As from the earlier post in this thread it seems like 3 to 4 months is okay and normal. Which in your case it is. For me it's one more month back.
Also I spoke to few orther dealership, they are saying that they will give 2 to 3 months old manufactured car but I doubt. I have someone who works in Hyundai factory, a friend's friend, have seek out advice from him. Once I speak to him, will keep the forum posted. Thanks!!!
baridbej is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2023, 12:50   #244

Originally Posted by baridbej View Post
Hi all, I have recently booked a Hyundai Verna and while I was about to do the PDI, I figured by looking at the Form 22, the car is July 23 manufactured while I will take the delivery in Dec 23. So effectively its a 6 month old car. Should I go take the delivery? 🙏🏿
Very much in the same boat, just that Verna DCT Turbo allocated to me is August manufactured. I am not certain if I should go ahead and take the delivery, especially when the car is electronically loaded these days. .
I don’t see what the problem is. Do you guys expect the electronics to fail in 6 months? Nothing happens to a vehicle if it sits in a yard for a few months. At the most, you can try and negotiate a small discount. If it is a new vehicle then it is identical to one that was manufactured last week.
Lobogris is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2023, 07:46   #245

I agree with Lobogris. 6 month old stock is not a major concern if the vehicle is parked safely at the dealer's yard.

There are some variant-transmission-color combinations that are not in high demand, that end up being stuck with the dealer for a long time. If it is a popular configuration though, like a white/black Verna top-end automatic, my advice would be to proceed only after a satisfactory explanation from the dealer. There are high chances that such cars have been rejected by one or more customers already.

Insist on a thorough PDI during day time. If possible, take a look at the car where it is parked in as-is condition. Most dealers keep the odometer disconnected, so by looking at things like rust on disc plates you can tell if the car has been driven around or not. If the odometer is connected, it should not read more than 10-15 km. Repainted panels and replaced parts are your biggest concerns. Keep an eye out for paint mismatch and signs of use/abuse on nuts and bolts under the hood. Depending on your skills, you can also push the dealer for more discounts as 1-2 months old stock is the norm with most Hyundai/Kia cars from what I've seen.

Last edited by self_driven : 4th December 2023 at 07:48.
Old 5th December 2023, 02:34   #246

Update to this:
As suggested, I went ahead with the PDI through Zekardo. Apparantly there are no major/minor niggles in the vehicle. The PDI report is issue free.
Upon asking the dealership about why am I being provided an August manufactured vehicle, the response was "Sir, we ordered the vehicle after you booked it with us. You may check our internal invoice as well for proof. It is not in our control which month's manufactured car would be alloted to us by Hyundai".

I totally understand the dealer's stance. I had already worked up massive discount through thorough negotiations. So, even after insisting for something extra I am getting no more discounts.

I don't have any issue with the vehicle to be honest, just skeptical about the tyres on my batch of allotted car. These are Goodyear Assurance Triplemax 3, while newer batches have Apollo Alnac 4g.
Old 10th December 2023, 17:35   #247

Update to this:
As suggested, I went ahead with the PDI through Zekardo. Apparantly there are no major/minor niggles in the vehicle. The PDI report is issue free.
Upon asking the dealership about why am I being provided an August manufactured vehicle, the response was "Sir, we ordered the vehicle after you booked it with us. You may check our internal invoice as well for proof. It is not in our control which month's manufactured car would be alloted to us by Hyundai".

I totally understand the dealer's stance. I had already worked up massive discount through thorough negotiations. So, even after insisting for something extra I am getting no more discounts.

I don't have any issue with the vehicle to be honest, just skeptical about the tyres on my batch of allotted car. These are Goodyear Assurance Triplemax 3, while newer batches have Apollo Alnac 4g.
Same here. Did a PDI myself and also took a friend of mine. Seems the car is in pristine condition and the odo also read only 8kms. So went ahead and took the decision to go with delivery. Dealer showed me proofs that suggest that the car came to stockyard in September 2023..so I was good.
Today, I.e. 10th Dec I got the white beauty home 🏡
Old 1st May 2024, 19:38   #248

Hi everyone,
We are planning to buy a 'Dec 2023' XUV 700 (AX3 Diesel Automatic - Mid Night Black), the dealer is giving a discount of 1,50,000 on ex-showroom price. We will be leasing the vehicle (which is the reason for considering old stock due to ex-showroom limit). We would be having a thorough look on the car next week before signing the dotted line. Just wanted to ask if buying this old of a car is a good idea or not because the dealer is itself pushing the proposal through the lease company in order to 'reduce delay', which seems a bit suspicious.

Also wanted to know what other things we should be looking out for while inspecting the vehicle apart from the general checkpoints and how to check for paint or body repairs on the car.

TIA
Old 1st May 2024, 20:14   #249

Originally Posted by Ghosty View Post
Hi everyone,
We are planning to buy a 'Dec 2023' XUV 700 (AX3 Diesel Automatic - Mid Night Black), the dealer is giving a discount of 1,50,000 on ex-showroom price. We will be leasing the vehicle (which is the reason for considering old stock due to ex-showroom limit). We would be having a thorough look on the car next week before signing the dotted line. Just wanted to ask if buying this old of a car is a good idea or not because the dealer is itself pushing the proposal through the lease company in order to 'reduce delay', which seems a bit suspicious.

Also wanted to know what other things we should be looking out for while inspecting the vehicle apart from the general checkpoints and how to check for paint or body repairs on the car.

TIA
Please don't trust with your eyes closed on auto dealers in Delhi/NCR market, most are untrustworthy.

Check with multiple dealers before deciding, after all 1.5L is no big deal, to live with a doubt.

All the best.
Old 24th May 2024, 12:51   #250

Greetings to all the members of Team-BHP. I am planning for a Fortuner 4x4 MT. I need advice from all you well experienced people out here, with regards to the gap in the number of days of vehicles manufacture to the date of delivery.

I am currently in a relationship with Harsha Toyota for the same. Got a mere Rs 25,000 discount (verbal promise). I have made a token payment of Rs 1,00,000 till date.

Whatever happened was on call, so I thought it is a good idea to send a WhatsApp message to the SA, so that there is documentary evidence along with common consensus for all the developments till date.
The following were asked by me on WhatsApp to which the Sales Assistant confirmed.

1) The vehicle we want should be of latest manufactured being 17th/18th May 2024.
Backstory - The Sales Assistant specifically told 17th/18th of May 2024 batch will be
available ( he told us this on the 15th of May when we were about to make the token
payment.)

2) The Insurance amount offered by Harsha Toyota is to be matched to what offer I have
from a Third Party or if not matched, I will take the Insurance entirely from the Third
Party.

Before the token payment, i made sure there will be a PDI done by me to which the SA agreed. On 18th May, while asking for PDI in the stockyard, the SA says Customers are not allowed in the Stockyard, the vehicle will be brought here in the showroom and PDI can be done here. I agreed.

Now on the 21st of May, I visit for PDI.

Observations-
1) The vehicle was dirty. SA's reasoning- We clean the car before giving delivery. How
am i going to check for the paint and scratches if the car is dirty? After having a
proper follow-up with the SA, i visited to the showroom for PDI.

2) The vehicle was dated 15th March 2024. Which means the vehicle was standing for
70 Days/ ~10 Weeks. I requested for a fresher stock, SA came up with a call today
with a vehicle dated 04 April 2024. (Manufactured 50 Days ago/ ~7 Weeks)

3) The vehicle had an ODO of 13km, which is quite acceptable. Did not further carry
out the PDI as I was disheartened with the manufacturing date

The SA was shocked to see the pinned checklist for PDI I had while I was noting the VIN. He glanced through the checklist (checklist was from Team-BHP itself)

SA said, customers aren't even allowed here in the stock premises (that was the backyard of the showroom)
He adds, nobody does a PDI, we directly hand over the car to the customer on the delivery date.

I went alone, I should have taken someone with me.
The vehicle VIN is still not allotted to me and I have not made the payment yet, all thanks to the wonderful people here who spread awareness to always be on the safer side of the deal.

My Queries-

1) What is the ideal gap (days) to be preferred from Date of Manufacturing to Date of
Delivery ? I am unaware of the standard acceptable practice currently being followed
as my last vehicle purchase was 9 years ago.

2) Will it be okay to accept a Vehicle manufactured 50 days ago on 4th April 2024 ?
(current case)

3) Are customers not allowed to do PDI in Stockyard (I am guessing whether the SA
does not want me to see other vehicles of the latest batch)

4) If I accept the vehicle manufactured on 4th April, what is the range of discount I
should seek ?

I am flexible, I just want a fair deal.

Thank you for all your time reading this. Kindly help me out with the same, until then I am holding my PDI. My intended date of delivery is on 30th May 2024.

Note for The Moderator - I was unable to understand whether to put this post here or on the thread "2021 Fortuner Legender & Facelift Review"
Old 30th May 2024, 22:01   #251

Hi Team BHP,

I had booked a Hector Plus 6 seater Sharp Pro CVT (black color) a few days back. I requested Zekardo for a PDI today. I was informed by the Zekardo Engineer that the car is manufactured in January 2024 and the tyres were manufactured in December 2023. I was informed by the Zekardo engineer either to ask for a discount or not take a delivery? I decided not to take the delivery. Is it the right decision or am I just being fussy?
Old 31st May 2024, 09:24   #252

Originally Posted by V12Manual View Post
My Queries
I guess you might have taken the delivery by now, but here goes;

What is the ideal gap (days) to be preferred from Date of Manufacturing to Date of Delivery ?
It depends on the car, as well as the buyer's tolerance. A gap of 2-3 month is acceptable in most cases. Brands with good demand and strong supply chain are able to deliver cars faster. My Seltos was delivered within 15 days from manufacture. On the other hand, slow movers can remain stuck in the stockyard for even 10 to 12 months, but many people consider and pick up these cars with reasonable discounts thrown in.

2) Will it be okay to accept a Vehicle manufactured 50 days ago on 4th April 2024 ? (current case)
Yes. Even the March 2024 one can be considered with some extra discount.

3) Are customers not allowed to do PDI in Stockyard (I am guessing whether the SA does not want me to see other vehicles of the latest batch
Could be the case. It depends from dealer to dealer. Most of them oblige.

4) If I accept the vehicle manufactured on 4th April, what is the range of discount I should seek ?
I'm not sure about this. Depending on your skills, you can probably push for free accessories (worth 20-30k) or extended warranty if the dealer is hesitant to give upfront cash discount.

Originally Posted by 0wn3r View Post
Hi Team BHP,

I had booked a Hector Plus 6 seater Sharp Pro CVT (black color) a few days back. I requested Zekardo for a PDI today. I was informed by the Zekardo Engineer that the car is manufactured in January 2024 and the tyres were manufactured in December 2023. I was informed by the Zekardo engineer either to ask for a discount or not take a delivery? I decided not to take the delivery. Is it the right decision or am I just being fussy?
Before refusing delivery, you could have tried to push for a better deal. What timeline has the dealer given for the next batch of cars to be delivered? If it's longer than a month or two, I would suggest to proceed with the current one. Push for good discounts (at least 1 lakh) if the 6 month old car passes other PDI tests and has no signs of wear. Tyre manufacturing date does not matter much.

If the dealer agrees to arrange a newer car in reasonable time or doesn't offer generous discount on the current stock, then I'd say you did the right thing.

Last edited by self_driven : 31st May 2024 at 09:32.
self_driven is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st May 2024, 10:15   #253

When enquiring about the Kodiaq, the sales folks at PPS Škoda here in Hyderabad said current deliveries of the vehicle could be from as back as 9-10 months of manufacturing. The VIN from a recent delivery had Aug 2023 date, paid for at some 49L OTR. Vehicle delivery was done within 5-7 working days from booking.

When we enquired as to the reasons for such delays, it was largely attributed to shipping disruptions in the Red Sea. However, and this could just be me, it seemed like there was a ready stock of older vehicles that needed to be cleared before the latest model was brought to dealers.
Old 31st May 2024, 14:26   #254

Originally Posted by self_driven View Post
I guess you might have taken the delivery by now, but here goes;
Thanks. I would push for a discount. However, the MG Hector dealer has informed me that there would be a price rise (approx Rs.40,000) from June 1 and he would be able to deliver the car by June 15. Further he stated that he is not sure which month the car manufacturing would be.

I will keep everyone posted on how it goes. Thanks for the feedback.

Last edited by Eddy : 31st May 2024 at 14:32. Reason: Sortened quoted portion for better readability
0wn3r is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st May 2024, 18:46   #255

Thank you Self Driven for your responses. I had postponed the delivery for 2nd June. I have negotiated for Rs 30,000 discount and opted for insurance elsewhere (savings of Rs 75,500). Going in for the April Manufacture Fortuner

Appreciate your inputs
V12Manual is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com