Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 26th February 2010, 11:30   #121

Boohoohoo!

My jeep has been going through a build since the middle of January...and here are the costs of just spares so far:

Front & Rear 8/43 Crown pinion ratio: 5,000
Change core on Radiator - repaint and fix top & bottom: 1,500 (might cost slightly more)
KMT 90 Gear Box & T18 transfer case: 9,000
Fix brakes: 2,000
Free wheeling hubs: 3500
New seats: 4000
New fuel tank (under seat type): 1200
2002 type Mico Fuel pump: 4350
New exhaust line : 2000 (advance)
Other spares: Rs 6,000
Electrical overhaul (finolex): Rs 5,000

More to add:

Engine Oil/Gbox Oil/Diff Oil: Rs 5,000
6 point roll cage: Rs 4000 (estimate)
New top:

Labour so far:

Next Budget (Phase 2)

New taller MT Tyres for OTR and swappable HT tyres on rims for regular usage
SPOA
Wide axles (FC/FJ or Armada Grand)
Rims/Alloys
Better brakes

Phase 3:
Trailer
Winch

Last edited by Red Liner : 26th February 2010 at 11:33.
Old 26th February 2010, 14:02   #122

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
1) Front & Rear 8/43 Crown pinion ratio: 5,000
2) KMT 90 Gear Box & T18 transfer case: 9,000
3) SPOA
1) Does it mean 2500 Per crw/pin set? And a dumb question. Are the front and rear the exact same spec, meaning can I swap front and rear crown/pinion assy? Where did you procure the 5.38 crown/pinion assy? Address please? I may have busted my jeep's rear assy for good!!

2) Where did you get this? I hope it is OE. Or Gujri/2nd hand?

3) Who is going to do this work? In bangy? Which place?
Old 26th February 2010, 14:13   #123

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
1) Does it mean 2500 Per crw/pin set? And a dumb question. Are the front and rear the exact same spec, meaning can I swap front and rear crown/pinion assy? Where did you procure the 5.38 crown/pinion assy? Address please? I may have busted my jeep's rear assy for good!!
I got the entire Gbox, and crw/pin set and Tcase all for 14G. I threw away my old stuff (it was crap - salvage). You may get it cheaper if your's is in better condition.

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
1) 2) Where did you get this? I hope it is OE. Or Gujri/2nd hand?
OE? Are you mad? I cant seem to fathom this new found craze about taking jeeps to authorised M&M dealers and getting them to fix it. Been seeing it on a couple of threads around Jeep builds and fixes here.

I would rather trust my FNG (friendly neighbourhood garage), build a relationship with him (or her??! yeah right) and atleast get top of mind attention.

It is Guri/2nd hand. These things come with a gujri warranty (and I deal with Gujri's only through mechanics - i dont mind paying even a small premium).

3) Who is going to do this work? In bangy? Which place?[/quote]

Already done man - Bangy :-) PM'ed you some details.
Old 26th February 2010, 17:24   #124
AVR

Counter-questioning :)

It seems here only those have already spent have been speaking so far so here's something from someone who's planning to!

1) If the MM540 has 6.00x16 tyres and the stock rims, Can I fit the 235/70R16 tyres on the same rim? If not, what would be the rough cost of rims for this size (Not looking at fancy alloys)?
2) What is the range of costs for 2WD to 4wd conversion for a 1990 4-speed 2112cc peugeot engine 540?
3) Which is the most cost-effective power steering setup for the 540? Please provide ball park numbers.

Aditya
Old 26th February 2010, 17:29   #125

Originally Posted by AVR View Post
1) If the MM540 has 6.00x16 tyres and the stock rims, Can I fit the 235/70R16 tyres on the same rim? If not, what would be the rough cost of rims for this size (Not looking at fancy alloys)?
2) What is the range of costs for 2WD to 4wd conversion for a 1990 4-speed 2112cc peugeot engine 540?
3) Which is the most cost-effective power steering setup for the 540? Please provide ball park numbers.
@Aditya:

1. Yes
2. 4wd conversion will range from 15 to 20K
3. PS conversion will be around 5 - 7K

Pts 2 & 3 are with seconds parts and not BRAND NEW!
Old 26th February 2010, 17:30   #126

Originally Posted by AVR View Post
It seems here only those have already spent have been speaking so far so here's something from someone who's planning to!

Ans:Yes you can put 235 /70 R 16 on std jeep tyre. Engineers wouldn't recommend but in real world it doesn't matter for slow machines like jeep. New rim should cost you 1200 each.

Ans: Should cost you about 15-18 K

Ans: For pure on road use and moderate off roading Koyo setup about 8 to 12K including labour. Bolero 4wd/ Armada grand set up old one should cost you about 30K including labour

Aditya
Please see my answers in bold above
Old 26th February 2010, 19:32   #127

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
What air filter are you using?
HI Tejas,

I'm using a KNN air flter , the cone type
Old 26th February 2010, 20:08   #128

Originally Posted by propeller View Post
HI Tejas,

Won't it let in more dust during off roading? Read about it somewhere.

Also, how loud does it get?
Old 26th February 2010, 20:21   #129

HI Tejas,

@Props : Are you sure ? I thought you are using R-Active Mushroom filter!
Old 26th February 2010, 23:26   #130
AVR

Originally Posted by vinod_nookala View Post
Ans:Yes you can put 235 /70 R 16 on std jeep tyre. Engineers wouldn't recommend but in real world it doesn't matter for slow machines like jeep. New rim should cost you 1200 each.

Please see my answers in bold above
Thanks Vinod and headers!
What are the possible issues with 235/70 R16 A/T on 6x16 rims?
Is it that they seem to balooned or something? there's no damage to the tyres right?
Old 27th February 2010, 18:01   #131

Note from Mod : Kindly stick to the topic. This thread is about YOUR 4x4, and how much you have spent on it till date.
Old 1st March 2010, 09:20   #132

Sorry !!!

Originally Posted by headers View Post
@Props : Are you sure ? I thought you are using R-Active Mushroom filter!
STGH - R-Active Mushroom filter is what i'm using and was donated by our dear Headers - STGH

Continues : A wider axel and Steering box kit after the OTR realised that my steering box is acting as it likes .

I'm not the driver - my steering wheel is . Guess another INR 5000 going out again.

Next would be my body work INR 18000 - Quote from car nation without removing body from chassis or INR 35000 if body removed from chassis .

Realised Jeep + OTR = Money + Fun
Jeep - OTR = No Fun + Money safe but the point of getting a Jeep is absent

Last edited by propeller : 1st March 2010 at 09:26. Reason: Missed and pressed Post
Old 1st March 2010, 09:48   #133

STGH - R-Active Mushroom filter is what i'm using and was donated by our dear Headers - STGH

Continues : A wider axel and Steering box kit after the OTR realised that my steering box is acting as it likes .

I'm not the driver - my steering wheel is . Guess another INR 5000 going out again.

Next would be my body work INR 18000 - Quote from car nation without removing body from chassis or INR 35000 if body removed from chassis .

Realised Jeep + OTR = Money + Fun
Jeep - OTR = No Fun + Money safe but the point of getting a Jeep is absent
Propeller your body work is good enough. Don't spend money on it. Try making Manual recirculating ball type steering just like Arka did on his 540. Makes world of a difference. Just run your vehicle with touch ups. Your vehicle looks good enough man
Old 1st March 2010, 17:47   #134

Hey guys, i woud say you should not calculate the money you spend on your rides. If you do so, you might realise some facts and the mighty truths. You might even end up selling off your ride. So, spend more and be happy that its not a waste. Anyway spending on your rides is far better than spending on your girlfriends
Old 5th March 2010, 16:27   #135

So far no major costs except for a recent starter motor overhaul and pump service.

Soon, my jeep is going to look like the one in the picture. Back seats are going into the garage.

Got a few foam board sheets and started on the template.
a week or so later, This template will be redone using sheet alluminium or steel (2-3mm thick).

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-mynewjeep.jpg

1. Snorkel head procured.
2. AC has to come, but not sure on the brand and other things.
3. Shall procure a Roof mount AC Blower to be fitted just below the B-Pillar facing forward. No blowers under the dash.
4. Flag pole procured.

50K and more.
Once done, i will have a safe, cool and closed cabin. GPS, Drive recording pin hole cam both in front and back and ICE.

I only have one option. Do this or buy a car for which i have a budget of only a lakh. So, technically i will have to end up buying an used 800. Got used to the driving position and command the jeep has on the road. Driving an 800 would mean sitting almost on the road and driving. My recent drive in start aqua's 800 has proved the theory right. Both of us felt a bit weired. Probably we have to get used to i guess. Though my wifey enjoys the jeep very much, of late she has been complaining that its getting too hot inside.

Krishna.

Last edited by kittigadu : 5th March 2010 at 16:31. Reason: added more