Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 8th October 2009, 23:43   #16

Great review Sudev. Looks like Fortuner has only one advantage over 2L GV, the engine. Would love to see the 2.4L GV vs Fortuner review someday.
Old 9th October 2009, 00:22   #17

Sudev ji, nice offroad-test there.
I could bring my Tucson along but I guess it's no match to others offroad without 4L and rear LSD...on the highway, Tuc is rock stable even at 160...

BTW, how was the Fortuner steering? Live and accurate?
Old 9th October 2009, 07:34   #18

Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
...they best feature on this was, hold a breath "the hood scoop" lolz....
That is for audience who do not know the OTR itch nor how to scratch it.
Old 9th October 2009, 17:31   #19

Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
little bit off topic. One of the test drive conducted by a news channel, he/she commented on the two gear lever, They said "this sort of things remind them of willys and jonga and isme acha nai lagta hai"

they best feature on this was, hold a breath "the hood scoop" lolz .

i can only say, Grow up, please!
hahahahaha! these news channel guys are hilarious! their stupidity never ceases to amaze or amuse!

@sudev: great pictures buddy..i was a bit confused between Silver or White Fortuner, your pics helped me make up my mind (in favor of Silver).

My car was originally meant to be delivered in February but as Silver is not as popular as White or Grey i may get it by mid-end November itself! (fingers crossed)

Look forward to more pics and some comments on the braking ability of the vehicle that seemed to have ruffled quite a few feathers.

Another thing i would really be obliged if you could confirm are:

a) Max Power in BHP (iv'e heard 163/169/171)
b) Service Intervals (every 5000 or 10,000 km's)
c) performance of Music system

cheers buddy!
Old 9th October 2009, 18:02   #20

Hold on!
The Fortuner has a rear LSD?
Old 9th October 2009, 21:51   #21

Originally Posted by Manuuj View Post

a) Max Power in BHP (iv'e heard 163/169/171)
171bhp or 126kW.

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Hold on!
The Fortuner has a rear LSD?
Not sure but since it is full time 4wd it may have a centre LSD. torque sensing wala.
Old 9th October 2009, 21:56   #22

@Manuuj: Hey I do not own that machine - a friend does - so I am really not in position to answer everything. Music system is good.

Posting picture of the track in daylight (last year taken from my GV during dry weather) and at nigh (wet season)

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-wildcat2.jpg

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-f19.jpg

Daylight changes perspective so much. Lends depth and brings out ease of navigation. At night you are limited to illuminated area of your headlight.
Old 9th October 2009, 23:36   #23

Nice offroad report sudev.
Looking forward to the comparo b/w all the bulls.
Old 10th October 2009, 19:58   #24

Some more offroading pics from UAE -on a petrol Fortuner

Sudev, Excellent Report on the diesel fortuner. Is there a petrol variant on offer from Toyota India?

Attaching some old offroading pics in Oman & UAE done on a Petrol Fortuner.

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-fortuner1.jpeg

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-fortuner2.jpeg

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-fortuner3.jpeg

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-fortuner4.jpeg

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-fortuner5.jpeg

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-fortuner6.jpeg

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-fortuner7.jpeg

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-fortuner8.jpeg

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-fortuner9.jpeg

Took a Fortuner offroading through the outback-fortuner10.jpeg
Old 10th October 2009, 20:44   #25

Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post
I could bring my Tucson along but I guess it's no match to others offroad without 4L and rear LSD...on the highway, Tuc is rock stable even at 160...
I am fairly sure Fortuner only has center LSD, because a fulltime 4WD has to have. Rear LSD is for little more serious application.
Old 10th October 2009, 22:21   #26

@JeepCaptain: No only a diesel variant in India. Lovely pictures.
Old 10th October 2009, 23:36   #27

Nice pics.

All i can say is, these kind of vehicles can only be termed as Softroaders.

You can never press these vehicles to do hardcore Off-roading like the 4x4 Safari's / Xenons /Pajero's or Scorp's, Atleast in the similar segments.
Old 10th October 2009, 23:55   #28

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Nice pics.

All i can say is, these kind of vehicles can only be termed as Softroaders.

You can never press these vehicles to do hardcore Off-roading like the 4x4 Safari's / Xenons /Pajero's or Scorp's, Atleast in the similar segments.
So, is Pajero a better OFF-ROADING option than Fortuner?
Old 14th October 2009, 08:50   #29

Just back from another Desert Storm 2010 recce of western fringes of Rajasthan. Amazing sections and even more amazing drives off road and dune bashing. About 600kms every day for three days and 150kms of off road.

Will post pics soon.

Of course it was in a Fortuner.

Last edited by Stratos : 14th October 2009 at 08:55. Reason: Removed the bold lettering
Old 14th October 2009, 20:47   #30

Some serious sand dunes were tackled with elan. Torque on throttle meant very less need for engaging 4L. Mostly 4H Lock was sufficient.

Some serious dune climbing was thwarted by sheer slope too....