Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 Army disposal jeeps (the 550 DP) are totally redone and do very rugged jobs reliably.
. |
My frank opinion . Trying to be as short as possible ( so , much to read between lines for the experienced )
Anyone has checked the 'reality' of the process of Army Disposal ? WRT following . But before that I have couple of Questions ,
# Why dont the Army / Govt repair the vehicle by themselves ( Army has a good facility of their own ) & then use it for next 10 yrs , as any civilian does without hassles after he ' restores ' it ??
# What makes the Govt /Army put the Vehicles in Auction ?
# What does the Classification of Army vehicles mean ? For example Class 1 , 2 -- 5
# Army auction ( & most Central Govt Auctions ) The process , Auction is online now , registered bidders only , lots are published on net .
One needs to inspect the vehicles , select & bid . Now the Fun starts here after the inspection there is no guarantee that a starter motor will be there till the end . One is not allowed to take pics ( Army ) , the deal is as is where is -- you cant complain.
But there are traders who deal in such , they buy lots , you can inspect & deal accordingly . But price is added by another 25 % .
# Army Jeep rates . There is a minimum of 12% tax on the bidding price ,plus you need to pay to the army babus to take possession of the vehicle . The process is long for a law abiding citizen as if you are favored a gold mine for peanuts .
So what are the current rates ( Unregistered , On road ) for the Army Jeeps ? It depends on the class of the vehicle ? My take is 140 K , some one please prove me wrong , I wish it badly .
# The Army Jeep , needs a fresh 'civil' registration to run on roads . With this 140 K Jeep you need to go to the R T O

. So here the Fun starts again . Some times the BS standards of the vehicle do not match with the registration criteria . Again the whole process is long for the Law abiding citizen .
So there are dealers for that too . You can avoid bidding & registering by yourself & get it done via a dealer , but yes please check the price .
# After getting a Jeep ( Army ) at your door step ( unrestored ) , for that you have paid some 1.7 -- again some one please prove me wrong .
What is the guess of costs , to get it as worthy as you wish ?? my take is 150 K
So finally you have a dream vehicle for some 3 lakhs minimum .
I am not counting the restoration hassles , the time you spend behind running after your mechanic , Thats a Jeep thing
Frustrating facts aren't they ?? But chances are I will be jumping in it soon -- as my 89 model Jeep is nearing its end of its life cycle , So Cheers
Sudarshan