Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 27th November 2009, 14:27   #121

And since its chosen by Harjeev who has the experience, I m sure it is a good deal.
Old 27th November 2009, 14:32   #122

Your the man Harjeev. This is what Harjeev helped me pick up from mayapuri a 99 mm 550. A new thread will start soon.
Mayapuri Jeeps-2009_1118thearrival0006.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-2009_1118thearrival0007.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-2009_1118thearrival0008.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-2009_1118thearrival0014.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-2009_1118thearrival0004.jpg  

Old 27th November 2009, 15:20   #123

Originally Posted by davids4x4mm550 View Post
Your the man Harjeev. This is what Harjeev helped me pick up from mayapuri a 99 mm 550. A new thread will start soon.

Harjeev is always helpful to Jeepers like us. He helped me in getting Sandgrip tyre for my 550. Hats off to him!!!

David , Congrats man for the grab!! How much you paid for it?

Tarkesh
Old 27th November 2009, 21:33   #124

Originally Posted by Ricky_3007 View Post
Harjeev is always helpful to Jeepers like us. He helped me in getting Sandgrip tyre for my 550. Hats off to him!!!

Tarkesh
Check this link out for information. Thanks

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ve...50-bombay.html
Old 27th November 2009, 21:37   #125

Originally Posted by n.devdath View Post
And since its chosen by Harjeev who has the experience, I m sure it is a good deal.
Originally Posted by davids4x4mm550 View Post
Originally Posted by Ricky_3007 View Post

Tarkesh
Come on guys, I did nothing!!! You know the way I see it is that when I was in the buying phase I had like a million question to ask and nobody to ask them too. So I read and read on Team BHP which was god sent but still there are some questions that one can ask only when you talk to a person or only to that person who has personally gone through the process!!!
So what I try to do is just share my experience with the world so that the amount of time and money that Ive spent or overspent in Mayapuri may guide future prospective buyers so that they do not commit the same mistakes that I did.
But please have this in mind that I am no expert on mayapuri and just learning the ropes, so like anyother person here I do still commit mistakes overpay the sharks of Mayapuri, but hey this is how experience comes. Jeeping is a passion which I intend to persue for the rest of my life!!!

@n.devdath: Thanks buddy

@David it was a pleasure to help your friend source the vehicle for you. but had your friends come a little earlier, (they landed at the shop very late @ 6PM by the time it was very dark), we might have been able to negotiate a better deal.

@tarkesh: It was great to be of assistance!!! The thing now is that I might sell my Apollo Bullets along with the Army Rims! Any idea how much can I expect for the set of 5! I have driven only for 2k kms and they are late 2008 and some early 2009 manufactured!!!
Old 6th December 2009, 15:59   #126

@tarkesh: It was great to be of assistance!!! The thing now is that I might sell my Apollo Bullets along with the Army Rims! Any idea how much can I expect for the set of 5! I have driven only for 2k kms and they are late 2008 and some early 2009 manufactured!!![/quote]

Just saw this. Harjeev leme know how much you looking for only the tyres.
Old 30th January 2010, 06:09   #127

Hey All
Though this does not qualify as a mayapuri jeep, but yesterday I saw a 1998 4x4 TCIC Tata Safari in Mayapuri.
The vehicle was single owner, but the seller was asking quite a bomb in my opinion. 1.80 lacs!!! Which in my opinion is quite high!!
BTW what should be an appropriate price for this kind of vehicle. The OD showed 56k but it should be either 156k kms or who know even 256k kms!!!
Additionally I din't inspect the vehicle iin too much detail, but the vehicle apeared to have been repainted, atleast from the driver's side!!!

Just for info for everybody!!!
Old 30th January 2010, 09:26   #128

Originally Posted by harjeev View Post
Hey All
Though this does not qualify as a mayapuri jeep, but yesterday I saw a 1998 4x4 TCIC Tata Safari in Mayapuri.
The vehicle was single owner, but the seller was asking quite a bomb in my opinion. 1.80 lacs!!! Which in my opinion is quite high!!
BTW what should be an appropriate price for this kind of vehicle. The OD showed 56k but it should be either 156k kms or who know even 256k kms!!!
Additionally I din't inspect the vehicle iin too much detail, but the vehicle apeared to have been repainted, atleast from the driver's side!!!

How much should it cost to refurbish? Complete work etc?
Also, since the old engine lacked power, will it be effective off-roader?

Old 30th January 2010, 15:06   #129

I agree with Ashish, the old engine was very poor and I doubt it will be any better in 4wd. Do not pay anywhere near 1.8 for that offer him well below a lakh if you are interested.
Old 31st January 2010, 00:10   #130
AVR

Hey All

While I am a big Safari fan and own a similar TCIC 4x4 from 2004, a 98 model is avoidable as that would be amongst the early lots and those had a fair amount of issues!
Old 31st January 2010, 10:09   #131

love the army 550s......looks pretty much in condition....good going
Old 31st January 2010, 19:12   #132

@Ashish, Satnam, AVR

I am no way interested in the TCIC safari. I just posted it for everyone's info!!
Not interested in any more vehicles. I have my hands full for the moment. Further I do not have more cash to spare, but whenever I do Ill like to do an engine swap on my 3B first.
Old 1st February 2010, 00:53   #133
AVR

@Ashish, Satnam, AVR

I am no way interested in the TCIC safari. I just posted it for everyone's info!!
Not interested in any more vehicles. I have my hands full for the moment. Further I do not have more cash to spare, but whenever I do Ill like to do an engine swap on my 3B first.
Lol Harjeev, Never for a moment would I think you would be interested in it, given the enviable garage that you already have!! Its got all the set of wheels I'd like to have!!
Also been reading about your help to fellow tbhpians with finding stuff for jeeps. Might be picking up a 540 in the near future so will need your help in finding a good engine (Isuzu 2.4L and the likes) if I have the monies for an engine swap!! will PM you!

Adi
Old 1st February 2010, 16:31   #134

Originally Posted by AVR View Post
Lol Harjeev, Never for a moment would I think you would be interested in it, given the enviable garage that you already have!! Its got all the set of wheels I'd like to have!!
Also been reading about your help to fellow tbhpians with finding stuff for jeeps. Might be picking up a 540 in the near future so will need your help in finding a good engine (Isuzu 2.4L and the likes) if I have the monies for an engine swap!! will PM you!

Adi
Anytime Adi
Always a pleasure.
But please remember that I am in no way an expert on Mayapuri or anything near to that. I too am learning loads in the process and that's where the thrill lies. Where as helping others is concerned I just try to do my best as I know other would do the same for me!!!
Cheers and send a PM anytime!!!
Old 23rd May 2010, 12:25   #135

Guys , I've been going through all the Gypsy rebuilds here as it's been my childhood dream to own one. After a lot of thinking i made up my mind to visit Maya puri and check out the options there.

After checking many gypsies ( didn't find good ones ) i zeroed in on checking out this one and enquired everything possible that i knew after reading the posts here

Here are few details about the gypsy -

Make - 99 carb Ex Army
Condition - Working ( 4X4 too )
Registration - Approx 14k for PB 47 ( claims that would take a week to get this done )
Price quoted - 1.2 lacs ( negotiable on the table upto 5 k )

He claimed that he would get the gypsy ready for the road including a new silencer , battery wiring and cleaning and giving a demo of the car. Also claimed that most of the PB 47 registered gypsies in Delhi were sourced from him.

My Tentative Idea as my budget is not above 2 lacs for atleast making it look and work decently.
  • Keep the same colour with proper denting painting job from a good place , he also claimed that most of the parts had original paint ( suggestions needed for that ) - Is it possible to keep the same army color??
  • New tyres
  • black rims ( for now although im a alloy freak )
  • New seats ( front only for now)
  • Complete engine work and wiring from DD motors Maya Puri
  • Soft top
  • 2 Hella fog lamps
I did reach out to Harjeev and Khan Bhai describing few of these things and he told me that the price was OK however could not show the pics but am doing it now as i bumped into this thread.

I'm totally novice to all this and everything mentioned above is the best to my knowledge and observations , i may be extremely wrong in certain things but that is where i'm going to get some help..isnt it??

I'm still in the convincing stage of buying this dream machine as wifey wants AC and power steering too. Would have to bribe her into this deal by adding these 2 things too.

Any help from the GURUS would be of gr8 help. I'm also planning to go today and look for more if possible.
Mayapuri Jeeps-harry031-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry032-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry033-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry034-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry035-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry036-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry037-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry038-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry039-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry040-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry041-medium.jpg