Old 23rd May 2010, 14:56   #136

Originally Posted by harishnayak View Post
Here are few details about the gypsy -

Make - 99 carb Ex Army
Condition - Working ( 4X4 too )
Registration - Approx 14k for PB 47 ( claims that would take a week to get this done )
Price quoted - 1.2 lacs ( negotiable on the table upto 5 k )
My advice is to avoid the carburetter version altogether.
Try and get a 2000 upwards mpfi version.
Mayapuri prices for 2000/01 model gypsies float between 1.4 to 1.6 lakh mark depending on the condition.
It is well worth the extra money.

Old 23rd May 2010, 15:40   #137
Muzungu

if you havent made the purchase, dont buy it!

listen to what Gotzuk and other Gypsies have to say.

and one more thing> did you wear anti-radiation suit while visiting Mayapuri?

Old 23rd May 2010, 15:49   #138

There is no radiation in Mayapuri now, claimed by Greenpeace (NGO who sent his radiation experts) on 20th May 2010.

Source: No radiation in Mayapuri scrap market: Greenpeace - Delhi - City - The Times of India
Old 23rd May 2010, 16:00   #139
Muzungu

Originally Posted by Irish View Post
There is no radiation in Mayapuri now, claimed by Greenpeace (NGO who sent his radiation experts) on 20th May 2010.

Source: No radiation in Mayapuri scrap market: Greenpeace - Delhi - City - The Times of India
im glad to hear that. its a good news for mayapuri residents and workers.

back in business for mayapuri, i guess!

Old 24th May 2010, 09:00   #140

Originally Posted by gotzuk View Post
My advice is to avoid the carburetter version altogether.
Try and get a 2000 upwards mpfi version.
Mayapuri prices for 2000/01 model gypsies float between 1.4 to 1.6 lakh mark depending on the condition.
It is well worth the extra money.

Hmm i see , i did got to Maya puri again today even though i knew that it would be closed today as i had some work in a nearby area however the gypsy posted by me seemed to have been sold cos there was a different ex-army parked at it's place.

I called up the guy whom i had met last time and he told me that he had 10-11 more ex armys with him and that i could pay him a visit on Monday and take the pick however i doubt if i would be able to go there today.

BTW i also took wifey to show Maya puri to her as she was interested in seeing all this. Her comments were " How on earth can these vehicles run fine after restoration" and that was when i told her to visit the threads here and see.

I did manage to click a few pics

Originally Posted by Muzungu View Post
if you havent made the purchase, dont buy it!

listen to what Gotzuk and other Gypsies have to say.

and one more thing> did you wear anti-radiation suit while visiting Mayapuri?
Sure i would. No i did not wear the suit. Hopefully nothing would go wrong .
Mayapuri Jeeps-harry166-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry167-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry168-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry169-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry170-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry171-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry172-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry173-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry174-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry175-medium.jpg  

Mayapuri Jeeps-harry176-medium.jpg  

Old 24th May 2010, 10:00   #141

Harishnayak,
Was that your chevvy spark, with T-BHP stickers
Old 24th May 2010, 10:35   #142

Originally Posted by rajeev k View Post
Harishnayak,
Was that your chevvy spark, with T-BHP stickers
Yes it was, cos i had gone on it to look for the gypsies.
Old 24th May 2010, 14:33   #143

don't get the carb. look out for an MPFI or get the carb converted to MPFI. Power Steering i would not recommend on a gypsy. THE AC would set you back by another 15K+ for a second hand unit.

Does he have any MPFI's?
Old 24th May 2010, 15:01   #144

Originally Posted by saintsinner View Post
don't get the carb. look out for an MPFI or get the carb converted to MPFI. Power Steering i would not recommend on a gypsy. THE AC would set you back by another 15K+ for a second hand unit.

Does he have any MPFI's?
So far i've only checked out the carb and yet to see the MPFI ones. He also told me that he had baleno engines for around 40 k.

I would need the AC at any cost as wifey would not approve w/o it..PS can still be compromised.

BTW is AC suggested/effective in gypsies??
Old 24th May 2010, 15:26   #145

So far i've only checked out the carb and yet to see the MPFI ones. He also told me that he had baleno engines for around 40 k.

I would need the AC at any cost as wifey would not approve w/o it..PS can still be compromised.

Hey Harish,

Any Idea on these "kinda good condition 550" cost?

Tarkesh
Old 25th May 2010, 00:01   #146

Are MPFis available in mayapuri? i thought it would still take a couple of years for them to hit mayapuri ? or are these converted ones?
Old 25th May 2010, 04:07   #147

Originally Posted by Ricky_3007 View Post
Hey Harish,

Any Idea on these "kinda good condition 550" cost?

Tarkesh
I did not check the prices but would surely do when i go there next. Let me know if you have any specific questions as that might help me in probing little more.

Originally Posted by davids4x4mm550 View Post
Are MPFis available in mayapuri? i thought it would still take a couple of years for them to hit mayapuri ? or are these converted ones?
The guy that i approached told me that he has around 10-11 gypsies however i did not check if he has MPFi ones or not but he's the one from whom even Aman sources his gypsies ( so i'm assuming he would have some )
Old 25th May 2010, 04:36   #148

Aman has converted carbs to MPFI. do note that getting the Baleno engine would mean an engine overhaul too and spares are expensive. but the good part will be if you replace the entire engine and use the baleno's compressor and ECU, you won't face the stalling issue as in the 1.3's with AC.

can you get me details on the baleno engine?? this would mean the complete engine minus the gearbox(and the condition of the engine), AC compressor & ECU
Old 25th May 2010, 06:04   #149

Originally Posted by saintsinner View Post
Aman has converted carbs to MPFI. do note that getting the Baleno engine would mean an engine overhaul too and spares are expensive. but the good part will be if you replace the entire engine and use the baleno's compressor and ECU, you won't face the stalling issue as in the 1.3's with AC.

can you get me details on the baleno engine?? this would mean the complete engine minus the gearbox(and the condition of the engine), AC compressor & ECU
Sure i'll get the details however my budget is not very huge, 2 lacs or maybe a little more.

Also if someone can tell me the disadvantages of a carb engine..Why is everyone against it?

Can't a carb engine be rebuilt properly to perform well?
Old 25th May 2010, 12:51   #150

Sure i'll get the details however my budget is not very huge, 2 lacs or maybe a little more.

Also if someone can tell me the disadvantages of a carb engine..Why is everyone against it?

Can't a carb engine be rebuilt properly to perform well?
There is nothing wrong with 1.3L Carb engine Gypsies. Ypu can reas Ashish's experinces with a carb gypsy below (although his problems were with work done at Mayapuri and not with the vehicle itself)

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ve...ushranger.html

I had a carb engine in my gypsy for 11 years. It is a very reliable engine and nothing goes wrong with it. Only thing is that since you get the 1.3L MPFI engines in the junk market which is more powerful, people tend to go for it. With the MPFI you pick-up will be slightly quicker and you would have slightly more top speed but nothing more. Drive a Carb 1.3 and you will see that they also have decent pick up and good top speed (I had got mine up to 120kmph).

All depends on what is your planned end use of the vehicle.

Ankit