Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 11th April 2021, 08:36   #1
BHPian

Monocoque vs. Ladder Frame Offroaders (case in point, the new Defender)

The new Landrover Defender has reignited the question, why can't we have the best of both worlds? - the better ride quality, lighter and fuel efficient monocoque with the ladder frame like ruggedness built in for offroading.

I am no expert but basic research always tends towards ladder frame chassis for tough offroading applications while recommending monocoque for urban, highway use. Having seen, such views from BHPians too, I am curious to know if this view changes/be reconsidered given that Rovers have chosen to go the unibody route.

How many of the stalwarts here would still feel that a ladder frame Fortuner / Endeavour is more rugged than a monocoque Defender and why?

Last edited by Sheel : 13th April 2021 at 10:55. Reason: Endy = Endeavour.
vsrikkanth is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 11th April 2021, 12:23   #2
GTO
Team-BHP Support

Re: Monocoque vs. Ladder Frame Offroaders (case in point, the new Defender)

Great thread! No doubt that the gap has gotten thinner. That said, body-on-frames have two advantages:

1. Far easier & cheaper to repair in case of damage than monocoques (not something that bothers Land Rovers or its rich customers).

2. Still more robust, abuse-friendly and overload-friendly.

For a hardcore 4x4, body-on-frame remains my preferred choice.

Land Rover's priorities are different, and cost or convenience wouldn't be on top of the list. They are also loaded with electronic wizardry to compensate for any shortcomings. Weight, emission & CAFE norms could also have been motivators for the brand's decision.
GTO is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 11th April 2021, 13:24   #3
Distinguished - BHPian