Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 28th September 2011, 17:59   #121

Re: SUV Trail-blazing

Originally Posted by nilanjanray View Post
I am sure we folks in the South could arrange someting...
I'm definitely interested in SUV trailblazing in the south! Do you think we should start a new thread about this? We could definitely get some people from Bangalore and Chennai for something similar. I myself would be willing to drive to / near Bangalore for an event like this!

Need to round up the people with SUVs that want to go Trail-Blazing.
Old 19th June 2014, 07:36   #122

Hi Sudev,

I am Arvind from Bangalore and have always been dreaming of owning an SUV and especially the Suzuki Grand Vitara.

This has been almost possible since someone in Bangalore is selling this car to me. They have sent the scanned copy of the documents and it is a Haryana Registration too. I wanted to verify if the RC document is original. Would it be possible for you to help me with this if I sent a scanned copy to you?

Secondly, could you also let me know if this would be worth the buy and how good a car this would be ?

Its a 2007 model Suzuki Grand Vitara
It has done around 78000 km so far
the front suspension has been done too.

This is my first post here after joining team bhp.

Warm Regards,
Arvind
Old 19th June 2014, 11:15   #123

About 5 to 7 Lakhs depends on how good you negotiate. More like 5 to 5.5 lakhs.
Old 19th June 2014, 12:36   #124

Sorry Arvind looked at your message only today.

To check RC one will have to probably visit RTO...where is the car registered? I do remember some other thread online check of RC was linked.....

As desertfox said the range is dependent on your negotiation skills. For that much on ODO I'd say 5~5.5 max.

Is it a white GV registered in Faridabad?
Old 19th June 2014, 12:39   #125

Also keep in mind that a 2007 GV will attract ₹1.5 lakhs LTT when you bring it inside Karnataka.
Old 19th June 2014, 13:00   #126

78,000 KM is not much. These engines will go to 150,000 km without much trouble and after that can be rebored easily.

What is the engine size on this 1300 cc or 1600 cc Petrol ?

Sudev Ji what is the Engine size of Grand Vitara Suzuki XL-7 ?
Old 20th June 2014, 06:06   #127

@desertfox : 3.2 liter V6 if I remember correctly

The current gen GV comes in 2.0lts <2007~2009) or 2.4lts (2009+)
sudev is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2014, 15:42   #128

What about its bigger cousin the XL-7 that used to come with a V6 gasolene engine 2500 cc I guess or 2200 cc ?
Old 22nd June 2014, 07:34   #129

Sadly the owner sold it. It was a 2008 2.4 litre engine HR 26 moonlight blue or something..

I cant tell you how badly I wanted this but missed it.

Last edited by Samurai : 22nd June 2014 at 20:32. Reason: back-to-back post
Old 22nd June 2014, 21:22   #130

Originally Posted by madmanscam View Post
Sadly the owner sold it. It was a 2008 2.4 litre engine HR 26 moonlight blue or something..

I cant tell you how badly I wanted this but missed it.
Actually, you should be glad you escaped from getting cheated. They were selling a 2L GV as 2.4L GV.

The 2.4L GV was released only in June 2009.
Old 15th May 2018, 22:27   #131

Next edition of Trail Blazing is being organised on May 20th at Gurgaon. Mild Off Roading.

https://www.facebook.com/events/201566587307763/

Free entry
Old 15th May 2018, 23:16   #132

The objective this time is to collect SUV friendly people and instead of doing convoy runs give all ten locations to check in - some of them will need mild off roading - and you find your own way of reaching these.
Old 16th May 2018, 08:48   #133

Scoring system that will be used:

Every location you reach will give 2000 points. More locations more points. You do not have to go to all points.

The total time taken (in seconds) from start to end is deducted from points earned to give final score.

You have to complete in two hours. If you run over this time you get disqualified.

So you have to plan your route and navigate accordingly.

There is also an app running on your phone that will monitor if you go overspeed. Duration of overspeed will be multiplied ten times and further points deducted from total for unsafe driving.
Old 17th May 2018, 21:41   #134

Starting location for Trail Blazing #6 on Saturday 19, May 2018 at 0630hr - Parking of Universal Business Park, Golf Course Extension Road, Gurgaon

If you have an SUV and are interested in mild offroading (soft-roading) and up to bit of navigation challenge show up. Roll time is 0700hr

https://goo.gl/dbgJ3p

Last edited by sudev : 17th May 2018 at 21:44.
Old 20th May 2018, 17:31   #135

A brief report :

A total 16 cars turned up for start in a surprisingly mild weather day in middle of May. Some did not get hang of using GPS Coordinates to navigate to the waypoints. Seven reached the end. Maximum six points out of ten were touched within two hours allotted.

Some pictures courtesy respective photographers are appended.
SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_065016.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_071546.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_072352_bokeh.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_073914.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_081418.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_081432.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_082950.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_083521.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_083959.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_084146.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_085051.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_085054.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_085106.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_085144.jpg  

SUV Trail-blazing-img_20180519_085403_bokeh.jpg  

Last edited by sudev : 20th May 2018 at 17:35.