News

Compact SUVs under 17 lakhs: Best options upgrading from 2016 WagonR

The Elevate V and Grand Vitara are currently my main suggestions.

BHPian ash22 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Good Day People,

One of my extended family members is looking to upgrade his 2016 WagonR AMT with a strict budget is around 17 lakhs, Chennai (on-road).

Requirement:

1. C-SUV.
  2. Petrol & Automatic only
  3. Easy on Maintenance.
  4. Will keep it for the next 10 years.

Use case:

• Mostly with a daily commute of 20 Kms office commute within the city.
  • Once a month a drive to native around 300 kms to&fro from Chennai

Suggested Vehicles:

• I suggested Elevate V CVT and Grand-Vitara Delta AT.
  • We did a test drive of both recently which caused more confusion for him rather than conclude..
  • Both look good and drive good for his requirements and driving feedback.
  • Since he is upgrading from his WagonR AMT, He loves both these cars and cannot conclude which one to go with.

Need Recommendation:

Out of these two cars, What will be that one deciding point that will help him to conclude between the two?

However, I suggested Elevate since the latest V CVT comes with 6 airbags too.

Decision is still open and Members can also suggest a better car based on this requirement. Planning to book the car in the next 2-3 weeks.

Here's what BHPian DCEite had to say on the matter:

I would add another option here: Hyundai Creta S(O) IVT.

Keep in mind it has the highest waiting periods, so if you want something quicker, strike it out.

But personally, I would prefer the Creta. For its proven brand image, a more lively engine (even with the CVT/IVT gearbox), a more refined cabin compared to the GV and Elevate, better fit and finish of the interiors and exteriors, Panoramic sunroof (makes a world of difference to the cabin's sense of space and feel good factor), good safety kit (6 airbags, auto hold et el), and Hyundai's after-sales service which is only next to Maruti.

Personally, I would stay away from GV (no offence to any owners) as I find the engine to be too laggy for my liking and the cabin quality of materials is not what you would expect from a 17-lac car.

Finally, the Elevate ticks most of the boxes but doesn't have the "wow" factor and it's just a practical point A to point B machine that gets the job done. I wished Honda provided more creature comforts, for example, a panoramic sunroof, a wider cabin, a more refined driving experience which is missing and did some work on NVH levels, and a better-sounding Music system, and better front seats, to name a few.

Here's what BHPian SixPistons had to say on the matter:

Seltos IVT drove slightly better than the Elevate CVT in my case, both tested at the nearest dealerships to my place.

The only difference is that Seltos is smooth and linear all throughout the power band and additional drive/traction modes to choose from.

Both carry the same power more or less, with Elevate being higher by 5 BHP.

Elevate sounds slightly more roary when you push it and a lot of sounds make it into the cabin. NVH is better in the Seltos.

Handling was better in the Elevate. Ride quality was more or less similar in both.

Tech-wise, the Seltos HTK+ IVT is more loaded if willing to consider 18.5 Lacs on-road. The cabin in the HTK+ also feels like a more fun place to be than the V in the Elevate at that price point.

Otherwise, like DCEite mentioned above, Elevate ticks most boxes but lacks the WOW Factor, which I find with the Seltos.

Here's what BHPian Asoon had to say on the matter:

Go for Elevate - It gets the job done without any fireworks. It's a trusted, reliable and smooth IVTEC Honda City engine under the hood, one of the best naturally aspirated petrol engines in the segment. Well put together, the build is better than GV / Hyryder, has more complications than turbo options available with Hyundai and has a better road presence than the competition.

Here's what BHPian Shreyans_Jain had to say on the matter:

I second the initial opinion. The Creta CVT and Seltos IVT are the cars to beat if you want a premium and reliable C-SUV for daily city use. The overall package feels a lot better on the inside than the Honda. Elevate suffers from plenty of obvious cost-cutting, which is not the case with the Hyundai/Kia. GV loses out on account of its weak, insipid engine.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

A helmet will save your life