Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 29th September 2009, 22:19   #1

Ducati opens Shop in Mumbai. EDIT: And now in Gurgaon

Looks like Ducati have finally found a place to sell their bikes. And NO its not from the porsche showroom. This one will open soon.
I was hoping this week but 1st is reserved for the panamera launch in mumbai.
This one is the next shop from Rolls Royce at the atria Mall in worli. Iam not sure about the date it will open up.

Shall have a look at it tomm. Will know soon then.
Old 30th September 2009, 03:54   #2

i heard ducati were opening at haji ali where hyundai motor plaza useto be, will be great if they open at atria, cant wait to see them in person
Old 30th September 2009, 13:12   #3

Originally Posted by danlalan View Post
This one is the next shop from Rolls Royce at the atria Mall in worli. Iam not sure about the date it will open up.
Nice! Worli is indeed the new automotive hub of Mumbai (related link). Actually, I can't think of one single area in the country which has all the car brands that matter. And Ducati!
Old 3rd October 2009, 09:35   #4

Originally Posted by danlalan View Post
Looks like Ducati have finally found a place to sell their bikes. And NO its not from the porsche showroom. This one will open soon.
any update on the opening date for the showroom?
Old 3rd October 2009, 13:26   #5

From what I know of Ducati their bikes start at about 18 - 20 Lacs ex showroom !! At that price how many are they planning to sell annually ?

I do not think they will cross the double digit mark !!

It will probably be a small showroom and not a huge one !

BTW I just saw a Red Ducati ( Model do not know ) on Mathura Road while exiting Delhi - it was looking stunning !!

How I wish I had the money to buy these things But more than money I guess you need the art of mastering / driving these beauties !
Old 3rd October 2009, 20:38   #6

Nice! I always drool when I come across the Ducati Singapore showroom. 1098, 1198, 848, Streetfighter and a vintage Ducati on the glass. Phew!
Old 9th October 2009, 01:40   #7

Here is some visual confirmation.

Located in between the Rolls Royce and Mitsubishi showrooms at the Atria mall.

Ducati opens Shop in Mumbai. EDIT: And now in Gurgaon-ducati.jpg

cya
R
Old 9th October 2009, 02:43   #8

Any idea how many models from the Ducati stable would be sold in India? 1098 maybe?
Old 9th October 2009, 14:20   #9

Last time saw on news channel or in a magazine, Ducati has brought up Hypermotard 1100S (Rs. 20.72 lakh), 848cc Ducati Superbike (Rs. 21.77 lakh), Monster S4RS Testastretta 998cc (Rs. 22.63 lakh), Ducati 1098R (Rs. 48.03 lakh).

Their target sale is around 50.
Old 9th October 2009, 15:07   #10

Originally Posted by Dante View Post
Last time saw on news channel or in a magazine, Ducati has brought up Hypermotard 1100S (Rs. 20.72 lakh), 848cc Ducati Superbike (Rs. 21.77 lakh), Monster S4RS Testastretta 998cc (Rs. 22.63 lakh), Ducati 1098R (Rs. 48.03 lakh).

I dought they will even touch 15 for all of its range for those price. This could be one of the case of BMW Bikes once upon a time.
Old 9th October 2009, 16:14   #11

Originally Posted by Dante View Post

The bikes are way overpriced and that too with yamaha and busa flagship models at much lower prices , why would someone go for the ducati especially considering that Ducati is not such a well known name in the indian markets compared to the yamaha or the suzuki. I doubt if they will be able to meet their targets. I understand that ducati as a brandname has a premium and hence the premium prices, but will that be acceptable to the Indian market is to be seen.
Old 9th October 2009, 17:34   #12

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
From what I know of Ducati their bikes start at about 18 - 20 Lacs ex showroom !! At that price how many are they planning to sell annually ?
The monster 695 is priced at under 10L (9.8L i guess) ex showroom.

They will sell 50 units easily
Old 9th October 2009, 22:34   #13

I'm not sure how many people would actually like the design of the 695.Now the 848 might be something totally different, but again with a tag of more than Rs 15L, I doubt very many would sell.
Old 9th October 2009, 23:08   #14

I would like to get some of the stuff these guys smoked when they priced the bikes. Granted Ducatis are expensive but 48 big ones for a bike??
I do understand that its overpriced even on this side of the world - apparently US msrp is in 40K range but hey that shouldn't translate to 48L!
Old 10th October 2009, 11:21   #15
TDC

Originally Posted by niks_devil666 View Post
The monster 695 is priced at under 10L (9.8L i guess) ex showroom.

They will sell 50 units easily
I thought bikes under 800cc are not allowed to be imported.